Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Bookmarks Festival of Books & Authors

This playlist features books by authors who will be featured at our 16th annual Festival of Books & Authors will be September 23-26, 2021 in downtown Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Visit bookmarksnc.org/festival to learn more!

Playlist Tags: Bookmarks festival

View all playlists

Sisters in Arms

A Novel of the Daring Black Women Who Served During World War II

By Kaia Alderson
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 11 hours 7 minutes

Kaia Alderson’s debut historical fiction novel reveals the untold, true story of the Six Triple Eight, the only all-Black battalion of the Women’s Army Corps, who made the dangerous voyage to Europe to ensure American servicemen received word from their loved ones during World War II.

Grace Steele and Eliza Jones may be from completely different...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Never Say You Can't Survive

By Charlie Jane Anders
Narrated by: Charlie Jane Anders
Length: 7 hours 21 minutes

This program is read by the author.

From Charlie Jane Anders, the award-winning author of novels such as All the Birds in the Sky and The City in the Middle of the Night, this is one of the most practical guides to storytelling that you will ever hear.


The world is on fire.
So tell your story.

Things are scary right now. We’re all being swept along...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Light From Uncommon Stars

By Ryka Aoki
Narrated by: Cindy Kay
Length: 13 hours 13 minutes

Good Omens meets The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet in Ryka Aoki's Light From Uncommon Stars, a defiantly joyful adventure set in California's San Gabriel Valley, with cursed violins, Faustian bargains, and queer alien courtship over fresh-made donuts.

Shizuka Satomi made a deal with the devil: to escape damnation, she must entice seven other...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Don't Overthink It

Make Easier Decisions, Stop Second-Guessing, and Bring More Joy to Your Life

By Anne Bogel
Narrated by: Anne Bogel
Length: 4 hours 28 minutes

We've all been there: stuck in a cycle of what-ifs, plagued by indecision, paralyzed by the fear of getting it wrong. Nobody wants to live a life of constant overthinking, but it doesn't feel like something we can choose to stop doing. It feels like something we're wired to do, something we just can't escape. But is it?

Anne Bogel's answer is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Everything Happens for a Reason

And Other Lies I've Loved

By Kate Bowler
Narrated by: Kate Bowler
Length: 4 hours 32 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A meditation on sense-making when there’s no sense to be made, on letting go when we can’t hold on, and on being unafraid even when we’re terrified.”—Lucy Kalanithi

“Belongs on the shelf alongside other terrific books about this difficult subject, like Paul Kalanithi’s When Breath Becomes Air and Atul Gawande’s Being... Read more »

Audiobook details

No Cure for Being Human

(And Other Truths I Need to Hear)

By Kate Bowler
Narrated by: Kate Bowler
Length: 4 hours 44 minutes

The bestselling author of Everything Happens for a Reason (And Other Lies I’ve Loved) asks, how do you move forward with a life you didn’t choose?

“Kate Bowler is the only one we can trust to tell us the truth.”—Glennon Doyle, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Untamed

It’s hard to give up on the feeling that the life you really want is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Surviving Savannah

By Patti Callahan
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley, Catherine Taber & Patti Callahan
Length: 12 hours 45 minutes

It was called "The Titanic of the South." The luxury steamship sank in 1838 with Savannah's elite on board; through time, their fates were forgotten--until the wreck was found, and now their story is finally being told in this breathtaking novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis.

When Savannah history professor... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Land More Kind Than Home

By Wiley Cash
Narrated by: Nick Sullivan, Lorna Raver & Mark Bramhall
Length: 8 hours 56 minutes

“Bold, daring, graceful, and engrossing.”
—Bobbie Ann Mason

“This book will knock your socks off….A first novel that sings with talent.”
—Clyde Edgerton

In his phenomenal debut novel—a mesmerizing literary thriller about the bond between two brothers and the evil they face in a small North Carolina town—author Wiley Cash displays a remarkable talent...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Ballad

A Novel

By Wiley Cash
Narrated by: Karen White & Elizabeth Wiley
Length: 14 hours 6 minutes

The Last Ballad

“Ella May has never had much of anything. She labors long hours in a textile mill in North Carolina trying to feed her four young children on nine dollars a week. When Ella sings one of her songs at a meeting of workers who are hoping to form a union, she finds herself something of a local celebrity. Written in beautifully evocative prose, this novel about bigotry and labor unrest in the 1930s exerts a powerful impact that pulls the reader into the vortex of the struggle for social justice. It deserves a place of honor in the canon of great Southern literature.”

Northshire Bookstore image Alden Graves, Northshire Bookstore
Audiobook details

When Ghosts Come Home

A Novel

By Wiley Cash
Narrated by: JD Jackson
Length: 10 hours 14 minutes

When Ghosts Come Home

“Only Wiley Cash’s exquisite storytelling could turn a story full of sad and depressing topics into a powerful, beautiful and meaningful story. It is the story of Sheriff Winston Barnes, the longtime sheriff of the small community of Oak Island, NC who is up for re-election and doubts that he will win. It is the story of how something in his past still haunts him and because of that he always tries to do the right thing, not what everyone wants or expects him to do, it is the story of his family and how much they mean to each other, it is a story of the racial unrest in the area in the 80s. And it is also a mystery which starts when a ghost plane and the dead body of a young black resident of Oak Island are found at the small airport and ends with a totally surprising outcome. The narration was as beautiful as the writing and I couldn't stop listening.”

Fiction Addiction image Nancy, Fiction Addiction
Audiobook details

Seeing Ghosts

A Memoir

By Kat Chow
Narrated by: Kat Chow
Length: 9 hours 53 minutes

For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family.

Kat Chow has always been unusually fixated on death. She worried constantly about her parents dying---especially her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Even As We Breathe

A Novel

By Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle
Narrated by: Kaipo Schwab
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

Nineteen-year-old Cowney Sequoyah yearns to escape his hometown of Cherokee, North Carolina, in the heart of the Smoky Mountains. When a summer job at Asheville's luxurious Grove Park Inn and Resort brings him one step closer to escaping the hills that both cradle and suffocate him, he sees it as an opportunity. With World War II raging in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Nice Girls

A Novel

By Catherine Dang
Narrated by: Carlotta Brentan
Length: 10 hours 41 minutes

“Darkly delicious . . . Nice Girls is about the girlhood we never really leave behind, and what happens when we dare to confront our past demons. A pulsating mystery with a narrator you won't soon forget.” — Laura Dave, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of The Last Thing He Told Me

"If you’re a total true crime addict, Catherine Dang’s debut...

Read more »

Audiobook details

I Wish You All the Best

By Mason Deaver
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Length: 8 hours 34 minutes

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's STUNNING debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process. When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Ghosts We Keep

By Mason Deaver
Narrated by: Ian Alexander
Length: 6 hours 11 minutes

Everything happens for a reason. At least that’s what everyone keeps telling Liam Cooper after his older brother Ethan is killed suddenly in a hit-and-run. Feeling more alone and isolated than ever, Liam has to not only learn to face the world without one of the people he loved the most, but also face the fading relationships of his two best... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amira's Picture Day

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Nazia Chaudhry
Length: 14 minutes

Just the thought of Eid makes Amira warm and tingly inside. From wearing new clothes to handing out goody bags at the mosque, Amira can't wait for the festivities to begin. But when a flier on the fridge catches her eye, Amira's stomach goes cold. Not only is it Eid, it's also school-picture day. If she's not in her class picture, how will her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unsettled

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 2 hours 28 minutes

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Salt Fields

A Novella

By Stacy D. Flood
Narrated by: Sean Crisden
Length: 2 hours 58 minutes

On the day that Minister Peters boards a train from South Carolina heading north, he has nothing left but ghosts: the ghost of his murdered wife, the ghost of his drowned daughter, the ghosts of his father, and his grandmother, and the people who disappeared from his town without trace or explanation. In the cramped car, Minister finds himself... Read more »

Audiobook details

Take Back the Block

By Chrystal D. Giles
Narrated by: Genesis Oliver & Chrystal D. Giles
Length: TBA

"This book made me want to step aside, hand over the mic, and listen to Wes. A must-read." --Mariama J. Lockington, author of For Black Girls Like Me

Brand-new kicks, ripped denim shorts, Supreme tee--

Wes Henderson has the best style in sixth grade. That--and hanging out with his crew (his best friends since little-kid days) and playing video... Read more »

Audiobook details

Beasts of Prey

By Ayana Gray
Narrated by: Keylor Leigh, Tovah Ott & Ronald Peet
Length: 15 hours 41 minutes

“Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses.” —Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful
 
In this much-anticipated series opener, fate binds two Black teenagers together as they strike a dangerous alliance to hunt down the creature menacing their home—and uncover ancient deadly secrets.


There’s no... Read more »

Audiobook details