Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Arielle's Staff Picks

Our store assistant manager's favourite books, in audio!

Playlist Tags: Shelf Life Books topic: bookstores topic: staff picks topic: content bookstore staff picks indie bookstore

View all playlists

Little Eyes

A Novel

By Samanta Schweblin
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 7 hours 3 minutes

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR

"Her most unsettling work yet — and her most realistic." --New York Times

Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York TimesO, The Oprah Magazine, NPR, Vulture, Bustle, Refinery29, and Thrillist

A visionary novel about our interconnected present,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

White Girls

By Hilton Als
Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
Length: 10 hours 44 minutes

"This book will change you." --Chicago Tribune

White Girls is about, among other things, blackness, queerness, movies, Brooklyn, love (and the loss of love), AIDS, fashion, Basquiat, Capote, philosophy, porn, Eminem, Louise Brooks, and Michael Jackson. Freewheeling and dazzling, tender and true, it is one of the most daring and provocative books... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Third Policeman - Abridged

By Flann O’Brien
Narrated by: Jim Norton
Length: 3 hours 37 minutes

Flann O’Brien’s most popular and surrealistic novel concerns an imaginary, hellish village police force and a local murder. Weird, satirical, and very funny, it is read by Irish master reader Jim Norton.

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Art of Cruelty

A Reckoning

By Maggie Nelson
Narrated by: Tavia Gilbert
Length: 8 hours 49 minutes

Today both reality and entertainment crowd our fields of vision with brutal imagery. The pervasiveness of images of torture, horror, and war has all but demolished the twentieth-century hope that such imagery might shock us into a less alienated state, or aid in the creation of a just social order. What to do now? When to look, when to turn... Read more »

Audiobook details

Binary Star

By Sarah Gerard
Narrated by: Sarah Gerard
Length: 3 hours 2 minutes

The language of the stars is the language of the body. Like a star, the anorexic burns fuel that isn't replenished; she is held together by her own gravity. With luminous, lyrical prose, Binary Star is an impassioned account of a young woman struggling with anorexia and her long-distance, alcoholic boyfriend. On a road trip circumnavigating the...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Book of X

By Sarah Rose Etter
Narrated by: Chloe Cannon
Length: 4 hours 59 minutes

A surreal exploration of one woman's life and death against a landscape of meat, office desks, and bad men

The Book of X tells the tale of Cassie, a girl born with her stomach twisted in the shape of a knot. From childhood with her parents on the family meat farm, to a desk job in the city, to finally experiencing love, she grapples with her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Earthlings

A Novel

By Sayaka Murata
Narrated by: Nancy Wu
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

As a child, Natsuki doesn’t fit into her family. Her parents favor her sister, and her best friend is a plush toy hedgehog named Piyyut who has explained to her that he has come from the planet Popinpobopia on a special quest to help her save the Earth. Each summer, Natsuki counts down the days until her family drives into the mountains of...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Girls Against God

A Novel

By Jenny Hval
Narrated by: Gabrielle Baker
Length: 7 hours 2 minutes

A genre-warping, time-traveling horror novel-slash-feminist manifesto for fans of Clarice Lispector and Jeanette Winterson.

Welcome to 1990s Norway. White picket fences run in neat rows and Christian conservatism runs deep. But as the Artist considers her work, things start stirring themselves up. In a corner of Oslo a coven of witches begin... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Organs of Sense

By Adam Ehrlich Sachs
Narrated by: Andrew Wincott
Length: 8 hours 5 minutes

In 1666, an astronomer makes a prediction shared by no one else in the world: at the stroke of noon on June 30th of that year, a solar eclipse will cast all of Europe into total darkness for four seconds. This astronomer is rumored to be using the largest telescope ever built, but he is also known to be blind—both of his eyes were plucked out...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Hearing Trumpet

By Leonora Carrington
Narrated by: Siân Phillips
Length: 6 hours 47 minutes

Surreal and splendidly unconventional, The Hearing Trumpet is an apocalyptic fairytale quest about an occult old ladies’ home and the spry nonagenarian who ends up there. After coming into possession of a hearing trumpet, 92-year-old Marian Leatherby discovers her son’s plans to send her to a nursing home. But this is no ordinary place… Strange...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Rain Heron

A Novel

By Robbie Arnott
Narrated by: Jessica Douglas-Henry & Zoe Carides
Length: 7 hours 17 minutes

A gripping novel of myth, environment, adventure, and an unlikely friendship, from an award-winning Australian author.

Ren lives alone on the remote frontier of a country devastated by a coup d'état. High on the forested slopes, she survives by hunting, farming, trading, and forgetting the contours of what was once a normal life. But her quiet...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Terminal Boredom

Stories

By Izumi Suzuki
Narrated by: Cindy Kay
Length: 5 hours 53 minutes

The first English language publication of the work of Izumi Suzuki, a legend of Japanese science fiction and a countercultural icon.

At turns nonchalantly hip and charmingly deranged, Suzuki's singular slant on speculative fiction would be echoed in countless later works, from Margaret Atwood and Harumi Murakami, to Black Mirror and Ex Machina.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Haunting of Hill House

By Shirley Jackson
Narrated by: Bernadette Dunne
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

Past the rusted gates and untrimmed hedges, Hill House broods and waits.

Four seekers have come to the ugly, abandoned old mansion: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of the psychic phenomenon called haunting; Theodora, his lovely and lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a lonely, homeless girl well acquainted with...

Read more »

Audiobook details