Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Bookish Books

Bookish Books

Love books that involve bookstores? Check out these bookish worlds!

Playlist Tags: Notably, A Book Lover's Emporium genre: Fiction fiction topic: bookstores

View all playlists

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

A Novel

By Matthew Sullivan
Narrated by: Madeleine Maby
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

“Still reeling from witnessing a tragic event many years ago, Lydia is thrown headfirst into yet another tragedy after one of her favorite bookshop patrons commits suicide in the store and mysteriously leaves all his possessions to her. As Lydia follows the thread that he leaves her, she finds out more about him, her town, and even her own past. Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore is a great book that keeps you guessing. Highly recommended for fans of a good mystery.”

BookPeople image Will Bason, BookPeople
Audiobook details

The Bookshop of Second Chances

A Novel

By Jackie Fraser
Narrated by: Ell Potter
Length: 12 hours 11 minutes

A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly aloof bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

“Humor and charm abound. . . . [This] love story hits the spot.”—Publishers Weekly


Thea Mottram is having a bad... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Red Notebook

By Antoine Laurain
Narrated by: Alex Wyndham
Length: 3 hours 37 minutes

The Red Notebook

“On one of his early morning walks around his Paris neighborhood bookshop owner Laurent finds a woman's bag left by a trash bin, nothing is left in it but a signed Modiano novel and a red notebook, with no name in it. Determined to find the owner of the bag Laurent breaks from his unadventurous life and follows the clues he finds in the notebook. Though it isn't long Laurain lets us in on the lives of two very human characters. He also explores how our personalities form the way we spend our lives.... or is it how we live our lives informs who we are? If you love bookshops, Paris, and beautiful language this is for you.”

Tattered Cover image Stacey, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

Confessions of a Bookseller

By Shaun Bythell
Narrated by: Peter Kenny
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

This book is the next best thing to visiting your favorite bookstore—bookshop cat not included.

Go behind the scenes at The Bookshop in Wigtown, Scotland, with owner Shaun Bythell. Inside a Georgian townhouse with a stone façade on the Wigtown highroad, jammed with more than 100,000 books and one portly shop cat, Shaun manages the daily ups and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Little Paris Bookshop

A Novel

By Nina George
Narrated by: Steve West, Emma Bering & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 10 hours 54 minutes

“There are books that are suitable for a million people, others for only a hundred. There are even remedies—I mean books—that were written for one person only…A book is both medic and medicine at once. It makes a diagnosis as well as offering therapy. Putting the right novels to the appropriate ailments: that’s how I sell books.”
 
Monsieur Perdu... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

A Novel

By Christine Féret-Fleury
Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Length: 4 hours 47 minutes

"Narrator Stephanie Racine instills an enthusiastic tone of wonder at the transformative quality of books in this tale with a beautiful dreamlike quality." -- AudioFile Magazine

For fans of Amélie and The Little Paris Bookshop, a modern fairytale about a French woman whose life is turned upside down when she meets a reclusive bookseller and his...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Goodnight June

A Novel

By Sarah Jio
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 8 hours 29 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of BlackberryWinter imagines the inspiration for Goodnight Moon

Goodnight Moon is an adored childhood classic, butits real origins are lost to history. In Goodnight June, Sarah Jio offers a suspenseful andheartfelt take on how the “great green room” might have come to be.

June Andersen is professionally...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Talk Bookish to Me

By Kate Bromley
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Inspiration can come from the most unlikely—and inconvenient—sources.

Kara Sullivan’s life is full of love—albeit fictional. As a bestselling romance novelist and influential Bookstagrammer, she’s fine with getting her happily-ever-after fix between the covers of a book.

But right now? Not only is Kara’s best friend getting married next... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

By Abbi Waxman
Narrated by: Emily Rankin
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

“What a joyous, charming, funny and beautiful celebration of books and the people who love them. There is so much detail in both the wonderful, wide-ranging cast of characters and in the setting. Quirky in the very best sense of the word. I will certainly return to the world of Nina Hill again and again.”

Leah Koch image Leah Koch, The Ripped Bodice
Audiobook details

The Bookshop on the Shore

A Novel

By Jenny Colgan
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Length: 13 hours 10 minutes

The Bookshop on the Shore

“Highly enjoyable, this story of a book-loving nanny in Scotland was just the right audio listen for my daily commute. Would likely resonate with readers who loved the Sound of Music. Great narrator.”

Bank Square Books image Carol, Bank Square Books
Audiobook details

The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted

By Robert Hillman
Narrated by: Daniel Lapaine
Length: 9 hours 26 minutes

Can one unlikely bookshop heal two broken souls?

"Beautifully written . . . Full of insight into the nature of tragedy, love, and redemption."--Garth Stein

"A poignant journey of unthinkable loss, love, and the healing capacity of the written word."--Ellen Keith


It is 1968 in rural Australia and lonely Tom Hope can't make heads or tails of Hannah... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Bookshop of Yesterdays

By Amy Meyerson
Narrated by: Ann Marie Gideon
Length: 11 hours 39 minutes

The Bookshop of Yesterdays

“Wonderful family drama and a bit of mystery with lots of book references. There are so many elements to this book that I loved. Great characters, intriguing story and fascinating look at the choices we make in life.”

Mostly Books image Tricia, Mostly Books
Audiobook details

The Lost for Words Bookshop

A Novel

By Stephanie Butland
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Length: 8 hours 58 minutes

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending audiobook from author Stephanie Butland

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you.

Into her hiding place -...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Bookshop on the Corner

A Novel

By Jenny Colgan
Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
Length: 9 hours 13 minutes

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

A Novel

By Robin Sloan
Narrated by: Ari Fliakos
Length: 7 hours 41 minutes

A gleeful and exhilarating tale of global conspiracy, complex code-breaking, high-tech data visualization, young love, rollicking adventure, and the secret to eternal life—mostly set in a hole-in-the-wall San Francisco bookstore

The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon out of his life as a San Francisco Web-design drone—and serendipity, sheer...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Diary of a Bookseller

By Shaun Bythell
Narrated by: Robin Laing
Length: 9 hours 41 minutes

Shaun Bythell owns The Bookshop, Wigtown - Scotland's largest second-hand bookshop. In these wry and hilarious diaries, Shaun provides an inside look at the trials and tribulations of life in the book trade, from struggles with eccentric customers to wrangles with his own staff. He takes us with him on buying trips to old estates and auction... Read more »

Audiobook details