Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Flyleaf Books: Adult Picks

Looking for your next favorite read? Below are recommendations chosen by the staff!

Playlist Tags: Flyleaf Books fiction audience: adults nonfiction bookstore recommendations

View all playlists

The Anthropocene Reviewed

Essays on a Human-Centered Planet

By John Green
Narrated by: John Green
Length: 10 hours 3 minutes

If you enjoyed Looking for Alaska, then you’ll love The Anthropocene Reviewed.

“Witty and moving essays about everything from air conditioning to Canada geese, Green artfully distills much of the human condition and what it means to be alive. Each essay's subject ends with his rating out of five stars -- I give this book five stars.”

Second Star to the Right image Violet, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

Yearbook

By Seth Rogen
Narrated by: Seth Rogen & Full Cast
Length: 6 hours 13 minutes

Yearbook

“So funny. I couldn’t stop listening until I had heard all of his anecdotes. Loved it.”

Pixie Hollow image Lisa, Pixie Hollow
Audiobook details

Six Weeks to Live

A Novel

By Catherine McKenzie
Narrated by: Caitlin Davies, Alex Allwine, Eileen Stevens & Julia Whelan
Length: 9 hours 8 minutes

In this international bestseller, a “twisty tale of secrets and lies that reverberate across generations of a dysfunctional family” (Michele Campbell, author of The Wife Who Knew Too Much), a woman diagnosed with cancer sets out to discover if someone poisoned her before her time is up.

Jennifer Barnes never expected the shocking news she... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Windsor Knot

A Novel
Her Majesty the Queen Investigates: Book #1

By SJ Bennett
Narrated by: Jane Copland
Length: 8 hours 4 minutes

The Windsor Knot

“The Queen solves mysteries! (Yes, *that* Queen). A particularly scandalous murder takes place in Queen Elizabeth’s beloved “happy place” Windsor Castle and turns out she’s been solving mysteries for ages under the noses of her overprotective and sometimes condescending family and staff. This takes place between the death of Diana and before Harry and Meaghan so it’s a relatively calm period in the Queen’s life. Helped by a new assistant, she solves the case! Also featured is a moving portrayal of her relationship with Philip. Darker than I thought it would be for a mystery featuring the Queen, suitable for fans of Tana French, Louise Penny, and The Crown. Great on audio! ”

Fountain Bookstore image Kelly, Fountain Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

By Deesha Philyaw
Narrated by: Janina Edwards
Length: 4 hours 6 minutes

The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

“Having grown up in a Mississippi Southern Baptist church, it wasn't until I was a teenager that I saw the secret double lives of some of us. Rebelling against the submit to authority messages on Saturday night, but sitting pious and submissive come Sunday morning services was de rigueur. Deesha Philyaw's book The Secret Lives of Church Ladies gives voice to secret lives that I know for sure are lived and true. The need for acceptance, for absolution, for grace is ever-present in familiar relationships as well as those in the church. These short stories are divine.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Moonflower Murders

A Novel

By Anthony Horowitz
Narrated by: Lesley Manville & Allan Corduner
Length: 18 hours 28 minutes

From New York Times–bestselling author Anthony Horowitz comes a new novel featuring ex-editor hero Susan Ryeland, set to solve another murder mystery

Farlingaye Hall is a beautiful hotel in Suffolk on the east coast of England. Unfortunately, it is also the site of the brutal murder of Frank Parris, a retired advertising executive. Stefan...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Oona Out of Order

A Novel

By Margarita Montimore
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Length: 11 hours 29 minutes

If you enjoyed The Time Traveler's Wife, then you’ll love Oona Out of Order.

“With touches of the movies “Big” and “13 Going on 30” and the book “The Time Traveler’s Wife,” this story took me to unexpected places. Starting with Oona’s 19th birthday, her mental presence and consciousness continues aging chronologically while time leaping to different ages of her life each year. It was an imaginative and thought provoking read with more depth than anticipated. It left me with the simple but powerful reminder that we can be worried about our past and future, but all we have is right now. We can spend our time and energy fighting to change the imperfect and unwanted, or we can seize onto what life is offering us right now and make the most of our experiences. By living our lives instead of running away from them, we are shaping the journey of our existence and accepting that we will have both high and low points. It also left me thinking about who are the anchors who provide support, guidance, and continuity through my life? Beyond the deeper themes, this story had the perfect balance of comedic and dramatic moments and provides a lovely homage to New York City, music, and pop culture through the various decades we encounter alongside Oona. I loved this as an audiobook.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

Nothing to See Here

By Kevin Wilson
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 6 hours 40 minutes

Nothing to See Here

“One of my favorite audiobooks this year! I loved the narration nearly as much as I loved each of the characters and their journey. You can't help but root for the children, and appreciate how the weirdness actually accentuates the trials and tribulations of found family versus those we're related to in a very real way. Delightful.”

Rediscovered Books image Jane, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

The Dutch House

A Novel

By Ann Patchett
Narrated by: Tom Hanks
Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

The Dutch House

“I finished this book wishing that I could tour THE DUTCH HOUSE in real life. I'm sure every person who reads this wishes they could have had Maeve's room. Patchett writes another beautiful and vivid family drama story. What she does best & my favorite aspect of her writing is her character development. The story can be a bit slow but it helped shape the characters and their relationships. Once I heard that Tom Hanks was the narrator of the audiobook, I immediately put myself on the library wait list. The entire time I pictured him as our main character, Danny, going through life and it made me like the book so much more.”

Kramerbooks image Monica, Kramerbooks
Audiobook details

The Testaments

The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale

By Margaret Atwood
Narrated by: Ann Dowd, Bryce Dallas Howard, Mae Whitman, Derek Jacobi, Tantoo Cardinal & Margaret Atwood
Length: 13 hours 17 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE The Testaments is a modern masterpiece, a powerful novel that can be read on its own or as a companion to Margaret Atwood’s classic, The Handmaid’s Tale.

More than fifteen years after the events of The Handmaid's Tale, the theocratic regime of the Republic of Gilead maintains its grip on... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Stationery Shop

By Marjan Kamali
Narrated by: Mozhan Marnò
Length: 9 hours 13 minutes

The Stationery Shop

The Stationery Shop is one of the most beautifully written novels I have read in a long time. The masterful plot brings us to a lost time and culture, but also transcends time and country. In a story set against the upheaval of 1953 Tehran, we discover how events change the destiny of two teenagers who meet in a book and stationery shop and fall in love. This novel of political dreams, family loyalty, lingering memories, love, and fate will haunt you long after the story ends.”

Janet Hutchison image Janet Hutchison, The Open Door Bookstore
Audiobook details

City of Girls

A Novel

By Elizabeth Gilbert
Narrated by: Blair Brown
Length: 15 hours 7 minutes

City of Girls

“City of Girls is the perfect read when you're looking for something that's not too heavy, yet engaging and entertaining. I loved the motley crew of perfectly flawed characters, unapologetic in their vices and dramas. And how refreshing it was to read about women, especially 1940s women, who were open in their sexuality and, dare I say, actually enjoyed sex! With multiple partners! How scandalous! Elizabeth Gilbert (who is a ray of sunshine in real life) has created something unique and heartwarming with her third fictional title. And if you're like me who finds audio fiction really hit or miss depending on the narrator, you'll be happy the hear that Blair Brown does a beautiful job of it.”

Powell's Books image Michelle, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

Ancillary Justice

Imperial Radch: Book #1

By Ann Leckie
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 12 hours 41 minutes

Ancillary Justice

“Read by Adjoa Andoh, the audiobook rendition of Ann Leckie's fantastic scifi novel brings the world and characters to life.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Gwendolyn, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details