Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller

Shelf Interested: May 2021

Not every physical book I carry has a streamable audio version...but some do! Voila: listenable versions of recently arrived inventory for May 2021. (Interested in the hard copy? Pop over to exhibitbbooks.com!)

Playlist Tags: Exhibit B. Books genre: True Crime

View all playlists

Bringing Adam Home

The Abduction That Changed America

By Les Standiford & Joe Matthews
Narrated by: Robert Fass
Length: 9 hours 51 minutes

“Les Standiford’s account of the decades-long attempt to solve the murder of Adam Walsh is chilling, heartbreaking, hopeful, and as relentlessly suspenseful as anything I’ve ever read. A triumph in every way.”
—Dennis Lehane, author of Mystic River

“The most significant missing child case since the Lindbergh’s….A taut, compelling and often...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Death on Ocean Boulevard

Inside the Coronado Mansion Case

By Caitlin Rother
Narrated by: Rachel Perry
Length: 12 hours 11 minutes

The call came on the morning of July 13, 2011, from the historic Spreckels Mansion, a lavish beachfront property in Coronado, California, owned by pharmaceutical tycoon and multimillionaire Jonah Shacknai. When authorities arrived, they found the naked body of Jonah's girlfriend, Rebecca Zahau, gagged, her ankles tied and her wrists bound behind... Read more »

Audiobook details

L.A. Noir

The Struggle for the Soul of America's Most Seductive City

By John Buntin
Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne
Length: 17 hours

Midcentury Los Angeles. A city sold to the world as "the white spot of America," a land of sunshine and orange groves, wholesome Midwestern values and Hollywood stars, protected by the world's most famous police force, the Dragnet-era LAPD. Behind this public image lies a hidden world of "pleasure girls" and crooked cops, ruthless newspaper... Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Blind Eye - Abridged

By James B. Stewart
Narrated by: Boyd Gaines
Length: 4 hours 59 minutes

A medical thriller from Pulitzer Prize–winning author James B. Stewart about serial killer doctor Michael Swango and the medical community that chose to turn a blind eye on his criminal activities.

No one could believe that the handsome young doctor might be a serial killer. Wherever he was hired—in Ohio, Illinois, New York, South Dakota—Michael... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Wizard of Lies

Bernie Madoff and the Death of Trust

By Diana B. Henriques
Narrated by: Pam Ward
Length: 16 hours 1 minutes

Who is Bernie Madoff, and how did he pull off the biggest Ponzi scheme in history?

These questions have fascinated people ever since the news broke about the respected New York financier who swindled his friends, relatives, and other investors out of $65 billion through a fraud that lasted for decades. Many have speculated about what might have... Read more »

Audiobook details

Pointing from the Grave

A True Story of Murder and DNA

By Samantha Weinberg
Narrated by: Wanda McCaddon
Length: 12 hours 37 minutes

This is the remarkable and gripping true story of a murderer and his victim, and of the tiny molecule that linked their fates. It is both the history of a science overlaid with human drama and a human tragedy inextricably entwined with science. It is about two lives made and destroyed by DNA—and by each other.

In 1984, Helena Greenwood, a young...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Last Call

A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York

By Elon Green
Narrated by: David Pittu
Length: 8 hours 10 minutes

"This true-crime gem—Green's first full-length work, sensitively and incisively narrated by Pittu—is an illuminating and deeply humanizing testament to victims overlooked by the media and forgotten in cultural memory...An insightful and essential conversation among author, narrator, and producer concludes this highly recommended recording." --...

Read more »

Audiobook details

My Friend Anna

The True Story of a Fake Heiress

By Rachel DeLoache Williams
Narrated by: Rachel DeLoache Williams
Length: 8 hours 47 minutes

ONE OF TIME’S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR

Sex and the City meets Catch Me if You Can in the astonishing true story of Anna Delvey, a young con artist posing as a German heiress in New York City—as told by the former Vanity Fair photo editor who got seduced by her friendship and then scammed out of more than $62,000.

Vanity Fair photo editor... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Man from the Train

The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery

By Bill James & Rachel McCarthy James
Narrated by: John Bedford Lloyd
Length: 17 hours 4 minutes

An Edgar Award finalist for Best Fact Crime, this “impressive…open-eyed investigative inquiry wrapped within a cultural history of rural America” (The Wall Street Journal) shows legendary statistician and baseball writer Bill James applying his analytical acumen to crack an unsolved century-old mystery surrounding one of the deadliest serial... Read more »

Audiobook details

Murder in Greenwich - Abridged

By Mark Fuhrman
Narrated by: Len Cariou
Length: 2 hours 57 minutes

Newsflash: Grand Jury just empaneled to investigate the unsolved murder of Martha Moxley!

The night of October 30, 1975, fifteen-year-old Martha Moxley was bludgeoned and stabbed with a golf club on the grounds of her family1s Greenwich home.

The golf club that killed Martha came from the house of Thomas and Michael Skakel, two boys who had been...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Everything She Ever Wanted - Abridged

By Ann Rule
Narrated by: Blair Brown
Length: 2 hours 35 minutes

ANN RULE'S BLOCKBUSTER BESTSELLER AT A NEW LOW PRICE!
EVERYTHING SHE EVER WANTED
Read by Betty Buckley
A TRUE LOVE STORY OF OBSESSIVE LOVE, MURDER AND BETRAYAL
Pat was a beautiful, willful child whose family belonged to the upper crust of Georgia society. Little Pat's parents adored their daughter and satisfied her every desire. But as Pat... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Trial of Lizzie Borden

By Cara Robertson
Narrated by: Amanda Carlin
Length: 11 hours 46 minutes

The Trial of Lizzie Borden

“Cara Robertson's first book details the events surrounding the infamous murders of Andrew and Abby Borden in Fall River, Massachusetts in 1892. Based entirely on primary sources: trial transcripts, contemporary accounts, and even recently discovered letters from Lizzie herself, The Trial of Lizzie Borden is an in-depth discussion of the circumstances surrounding the incident and Lizzie's subsequent trial. Robertson has poured decades of research into this sensational book, breathing new life into a story that has captivated the american psyche for over a century. An excellent read for fans of David Grann's Killers of the Flower Moon and Michelle McNamara's I'll be Gone in the Dark.”

The King's English Bookshop image Rachel Haisley, The King's English Bookshop
Audiobook details

Franchise

The Golden Arches in Black America

By Marcia Chatelain
Narrated by: Machelle Williams
Length: 10 hours 37 minutes

From civil rights to Ferguson, Franchise reveals the untold history of how fast food became one of the greatest generators of black wealth in America.

Often blamed for the rising rates of obesity and diabetes among black Americans, fast food restaurants like McDonald's have long symbolized capitalism's villainous effects on our nation's most... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Prince of Paradise

The True Story of a Hotel Heir, His Seductive Wife, and a Ruthless Murder

By John Glatt
Narrated by: Shaun Grindell
Length: 14 hours 2 minutes

A millionaire playboy

Ben Novack, Jr., was born into a hotel empire, Miami's lavish Fontainbleau. But his luxurious, celebrity-studded lifestyle would ironically end in another hotel room—where the police found him bound up in duct tape, beaten to death.

A history of violence

Seven years earlier, police found Novack in an eerily similar... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference