Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

American Serial Killers

The Epidemic Years 1950-2000

By Peter Vronsky
Narrated by: René Ruiz
Length: 16 hours 14 minutes

Fans of Mindhunter and true crime podcasts will devour these chilling stories of serial killers from the American "Golden Age" (1950-2000).
 
With books like Serial Killers, Female Serial Killers and Sons of Cain, Peter Vronsky has established himself as the foremost expert on the history of serial killers.  In this first definitive history of... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Babysitter

My Summers with a Serial Killer

By Liza Rodman & Jennifer Jordan
Narrated by: Andi Arndt & Aida Reluzco
Length: 9 hours

#1 of 10 Best True Crime Books of the Year by Marie Claire
Named Most Anticipated Crime Book of the Year by CrimeReads

​​A chilling true story—part memoir, part crime investigation—reminiscent of Ann Rule’s classic The Stranger Beside Me, about a little girl longing for love and how she found friendship with her charismatic babysitter—who was... Read more »

Audiobook details

Bad Blood

Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup

By John Carreyrou
Narrated by: Will Damron
Length: 11 hours 36 minutes

Bad Blood

“Theranos was a startup that set itself apart from the bevy of others in Silicon Valley. Its cause was noble, manufacturing revolutionary medical technology that could run a menu of blood tests on only a finger stick's worth of blood, eliminating the need for large painful needles. There was only one problem: the technology didn't exist. Painstakingly researched but still accessible to the medical layman, Pulitzer prize-winning journalist John Carreyrou investigates the meteoric rise and fall of Theranos, exploring how the company managed to fool the public, investors, board members like George Schultz and Henry Kissinger, and even Barack Obama. A must for true crime podcast fans, especially if you find yourself needing a break from the more gruesome stuff.”

Square Books image Maggie, Square Books
Audiobook details

Catch and Kill

Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators

By Ronan Farrow
Narrated by: Ronan Farrow
Length: 10 hours 43 minutes

Catch and Kill

“A timely, incredibly important account of the difficulties Farrow faced at NBC while working on the Weinstein expose, which he took to the New Yorker and subsequently won a Pulitzer for. The audiobook is grippingly read by Farrow (though the accents he attempts are... let's go with 'confusing'). It's upsetting, sure, but heartening to see the exhaustive research and the very clearly laid-out account of how Farrow had to work against the very powerful high-profile members of the media establishment--including his own bosses--not only because of Weinstein's well-oiled intimidation machine but also as part of those figures attempting to cover up their own histories of being harassers. Highly recommend this important piece of current events journalism, which reads like a thriller novel.”

A Room Of One's Own Bookstore image Gretchen, A Room Of One's Own Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Cold Vanish

Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands

By Jon Billman
Narrated by: Stephen Graybill
Length: 11 hours 36 minutes

Perfect for readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, this "authentic and encyclopedic" book examines real-life cases of those who vanish in the wilderness without a trace (Roman Dial)—and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them.
 These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished without a trace... Read more »

Audiobook details

Death in Mud Lick

A Coal Country Fight Against the Drug Companies that Delivered the Opioid Epidemic

By Eric Eyre
Narrated by: Michael David Axtell
Length: 8 hours 7 minutes

A New York Times Critics’ Top Ten Book of the Year * 2021 Edgar Award Winner Best Fact Crime * A Lit Hub Best Book of The Year

From a Pulitzer Prize–winning investigative reporter at the Charleston Gazette-Mail, a “powerful,” (The New York Times) urgent, and heartbreaking account of the corporate greed that pumped millions of pain pills into... Read more »

Audiobook details

Eliot Ness and the Mad Butcher

Hunting America's Deadliest Unidentified Serial Killer at the Dawn of Modern Criminology

By Max Allan Collins & A. Brad Schwartz
Narrated by: Malcolm Hillgartner
Length: 11 hours 49 minutes

In the spirit of Devil in the White City comes a true detective tale of the highest standard: the haunting story of Eliot Ness's forgotten final case–his years-long hunt for "The Mad Butcher of Kingsbury Run," a serial killer who terrorized Cleveland through the Great Depression, and tormented Ness to his dying breath. 

"A careening read that’s...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Empire of Pain

The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty

By Patrick Radden Keefe
Narrated by: Patrick Radden Keefe
Length: 18 hours 6 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A grand, devastating portrait of three generations of the Sackler family, famed for their philanthropy, whose fortune was built by Valium and whose reputation was destroyed by OxyContin. From the prize-winning and bestselling author of Say Nothing, as featured in the HBO documentary Crime of the Century.

ON PRESIDENT...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Furious Hours

Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee

By Casey Cep
Narrated by: Hillary Huber
Length: 11 hours 15 minutes

Furious Hours

In Cold Blood and To Kill a Mockingbird kept me up reading all night as a teen, and I can now add Furious Hours to the list of couldn’t-put-it-down tomes. I was enthralled, educated, and awestruck by Casey Cep’s well-researched and masterfully written true-crime account of a rural minister, his lawyer, and his killer. Thankfully, Cep discovered and brought to light what surely could have been Harper Lee’s second bestseller. Now…off to get a good night’s rest!”

Viewpoint Books image Beth Stroh, Viewpoint Books
Audiobook details

Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition)

A Story of Justice and Redemption

By Bryan Stevenson
Narrated by: Bryan Stevenson
Length: 11 hours 10 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING MICHAEL B. JORDAN AND JAMIE FOXX • A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice—from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time.

“[Bryan Stevenson’s] dedication to fighting for justice...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Killer Across the Table

Unlocking the Secrets of Serial Killers and Predators with the FBI's Original Mindhunter

By John E. Douglas & Mark Olshaker
Narrated by: Jonathan Groff
Length: 11 hours 7 minutes

Performed by Jonathan Groff, star of the hit Netflix show Mindhunter, and featuring an exclusive conversation between John E. Douglas and Jonathan Groff at the end of the audiobook

In The Killer Across the Table, John E. Douglas, the legendary FBI criminal profiler, number-one New York Times bestselling author, and inspiration...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Last Call

A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York

By Elon Green
Narrated by: David Pittu
Length: 8 hours 10 minutes

"This true-crime gem—Green's first full-length work, sensitively and incisively narrated by Pittu—is an illuminating and deeply humanizing testament to victims overlooked by the media and forgotten in cultural memory...An insightful and essential conversation among author, narrator, and producer concludes this highly recommended recording." --...

Read more »

Audiobook details

My Friend Anna

The True Story of a Fake Heiress

By Rachel DeLoache Williams
Narrated by: Rachel DeLoache Williams
Length: 8 hours 47 minutes

ONE OF TIME’S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR

Sex and the City meets Catch Me if You Can in the astonishing true story of Anna Delvey, a young con artist posing as a German heiress in New York City—as told by the former Vanity Fair photo editor who got seduced by her friendship and then scammed out of more than $62,000.

Vanity Fair photo editor... Read more »

Audiobook details

Notes on a Silencing

A Memoir

By Lacy Crawford
Narrated by: Lacy Crawford
Length: 11 hours 5 minutes

A "powerful and scary and important and true" memoir of a young woman's struggle to regain her sense of self after trauma, and the efforts by a powerful New England boarding school to silence her—at any cost (Sally Mann, author of Hold Still).

When Notes on a Silencing hit bookstores in the summer of 2020, even amidst a global pandemic, it sent... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Third Rainbow Girl

The Long Life of a Double Murder in Appalachia

By Emma Copley Eisenberg
Narrated by: Emma Copley Eisenberg
Length: 10 hours 32 minutes

The Third Rainbow Girl

“In this thoughtful and immersive chronicle of the 1980 murders that thrust West Virginia’s Pocahontas County into the national spotlight, Eisenberg seeks to better understand not only the crimes and their aftermath, but also the lasting impact the region (which she came to know independent of her inquiry) had on her. A complex and captivating read, The Third Rainbow Girl weaves true crime with memoir to stunning effect.”

Powell's Books image Tove Holmberg, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

Yellow Bird

Oil, Murder, and a Woman's Search for Justice in Indian Country

By Sierra Crane Murdoch
Narrated by: Sierra Crane Murdoch
Length: 14 hours 56 minutes

PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • The gripping true story of a murder on an Indian reservation, and the unforgettable Arikara woman who becomes obsessed with solving it—an urgent work of literary journalism.

“I don’t know a more complicated, original protagonist in literature than Lissa Yellow Bird, or a more dogged reporter in American journalism than... Read more »

Audiobook details