Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more
Bookseller

Mercurial May Staff Picks

Meddle with your mind with these mercurial May staff picks

Playlist Tags: Off the Beaten Path season: may

View all playlists

Speak, Silence

By Kim Echlin
Narrated by: Athena Karkanis
Length: 5 hours 43 minutes

From the internationally bestselling and Giller-shortlisted author of The Disappeared, an astounding, poetic novel about war and loss, suffering and courage, and the strength of women through it all.
 


It’s been eleven years since Gota has seen Kosmos, yet she still finds herself fantasizing about their intimate year together in Paris. Now it’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Winter Counts

A Novel

By David Heska Wanbli Weiden
Narrated by: Darrell Dennis
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

Winter Counts

“Weiden’s book is a thriller with an important social and political message. Following a Lakota ‘enforcer’ who enacts extrajudicial punishment to fill the gaps in the legal system, Winter Counts is a twisty new addition to the growing Indigenous literature canon. While some of the action may fall into somewhat predictable territory, Weiden’s exploration of the injustices of reservation life are vital.”

Briars & Brambles Books image Ashley Baeckmann, Briars & Brambles Books
Audiobook details

The Beautiful Ones

A Novel

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Imani Jade Powers
Length: 12 hours 18 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a sweeping romance with a dash of magic.

They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and this spring is Nina’s chance to join their ranks, courtesy of her well-connected cousin and his calculating wife. But the Grand Season has just begun, and already Nina’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Klara and the Sun

A Novel

By Kazuo Ishiguro
Narrated by: Sura Siu
Length: 10 hours 16 minutes

Klara and the Sun

“Told from the first person perspective of a very perceptive "Artificial Friend", Klara and the Sun, brings up questions of what it means to be human and the depths of the human heart. In a future where teenagers are all doing school online (future or present?) and they have required socialization parties and AI who are there to be their friends, Klara is the AF to a very spunky but sickly girl named Josie. Soon she finds our why Josie is sick and goes on a mission to seek help from the Sun. Creative and heartfelt this was another amazing novel from a master!”

Townie Books image Danica, Townie Books
Audiobook details

Tender is the Flesh

By Agustina Bazterrica
Narrated by: Joseph Balderrama
Length: 6 hours 43 minutes

Working at the local processing plant, Marcos is in the business of slaughtering humans—though no one calls them that anymore.

His wife has left him, his father is sinking into dementia, and Marcos tries not to think too hard about how he makes a living. After all, it happened so quickly. First, it was reported that an infectious virus has made... Read more »

Audiobook details

Uprooted

By Naomi Novik
Narrated by: Julia Emelin
Length: 17 hours 43 minutes

Uprooted

“Every ten years, a girl is chosen from the valley to live with the wizard in the tower, the Dragon. The villagers don't like it, but the Dragon is the only defense between them and the dangerous, vindictive forest on the edge of the valley, where every year, more and more people disappear, never to be heard from again. Or worse, returned to them, but an empty, violent version of the person who went into the forest. Agnieska knows this year, that girl will be her best friend, Kasia, because Kasia is perfect. But then it's...not. Agnieska is chosen and brought to the tower, only to discover that she, too, has a strange power. But all the while, the forest creeps steadily forward, consuming in its path. A riveting modern fairytale with loving female friendships, an ancient secret, and lots of magic. You'll love it!”

Oblong Books image Lafe, Oblong Books
Audiobook details

Annihilation

The Southern Reach Trilogy: Book #1

By Jeff VanderMeer
Narrated by: Carolyn McCormick
Length: 6 hours

If J. J. Abrams,Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weisman collaborated on a novel … it might be thisawesome.

Area X has been cut off from the rest of the continent fordecades. Nature has reclaimed the last vestiges of human civilization. Thefirst expedition returned with reports of a pristine, Edenic landscape; all themembers of the second expedition... Read more »

Audiobook details

Too Good to Be True

A Novel

By Carola Lovering
Narrated by: Amy McFadden, Andi Arndt & Stephen Dexter
Length: 12 hours 19 minutes

ONE LOVE STORY. TWO MARRIAGES. THREE VERSIONS OF THE TRUTH.

Too Good to Be True is an obsessive, addictive love story for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Upstairs, from Carola Lovering, the beloved author of Tell Me Lies.


Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to... Read more »

Audiobook details

When the Stars Go Dark

A Novel

By Paula McLain
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 11 hours 28 minutes

When the Stars Go Dark

“No matter what the genre, McLain is a masterful storyteller. Her protagonist in this latest novel is one of the most authentic and powerful characters I have ever experienced. Anna Hart, a missing persons detective, shares not only her knowledge as an expert on missing children but she lays bare her own personal demons as she struggles to find a teen who has disappeared. I was captivated from page one and couldn’t stop until I finished this intense and provocative story. Absolutely mesmerizing!”

Page and Palette image Stephanie Crowe, Page and Palette
Audiobook details

The Soulmate Equation

By Christina Lauren
Narrated by: Patti Murin
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

The Soulmate Equation

“What can I say about this book without becoming a blubbering, incoherent mess? To say I loved it with my whole heart would be an understatement. The Soulmate Equation is the best mix of enemies to lovers and quasi-fake/forced dating I’ve read in a while, and who could say no to the genetic dating app premise (I wish the app was real)? I was holding in my squeals so as not to wake anyone because I couldn’t stop listening. If you like your romance with a dash of science, nerd puns, and a sultry cinnamon roll, this one is for you. And Jess’s kid? Can we be best friends?”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

To Sir Phillip, with Love

Bridgertons: Book #5

By Julia Quinn
Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor
Length: 10 hours 26 minutes

Sir Phillip knew that Eloise Bridgerton was a spinster, and so he'd proposed, figuring that she'd be homely and unassuming, and more than a little desperate for an offer of marriage. Except . . . she wasn't. The beautiful woman on his doorstep was anything but quiet, and when she stopped talking long enough to close her mouth, all he wanted to... Read more »

Audiobook details

An Offer from a Gentleman

Bridgertons: Book #3

By Julia Quinn
Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball-or that "Prince Charming" would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome... Read more »

Audiobook details

Work Won't Love You Back

How Devotion to Our Jobs Keeps Us Exploited, Exhausted, and Alone

By Sarah Jaffe
Narrated by: Sarah Jaffe
Length: 12 hours 59 minutes

A deeply-reported examination of why "doing what you love" is a recipe for exploitation, creating a new tyranny of work in which we cheerily acquiesce to doing jobs that take over our lives.

You're told that if you "do what you love, you'll never work a day in your life." Whether it's working for "exposure" and "experience," or enduring poor... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Had a Little Real Estate Problem

The Unheralded Story of Native Americans & Comedy

By Kliph Nesteroff
Narrated by: Kliph Nesteroff
Length: 9 hours 34 minutes

From Kliph Nesteroff, “the human encyclopedia of comedy” (VICE), comes the important and underappreciated story of Native Americans and comedy.

It was one of the most reliable jokes in Charlie Hill’s stand-up routine: “My people are from Wisconsin. We used to be from New York. We had a little real estate problem.”

In We Had a Little Real Estate... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sister of the Bollywood Bride

By Nandini Bajpai
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a charming novel about one teen's summer tackling disasters including, but not limited to, family, romance, and weather—as she plans her sister's Bollywood-style Indian wedding.

Mini's big sister, Vinnie, is getting married. Their mom passed away seven years ago and between Dad's new start-up and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sparrow

A Novel

By Mary Cecilia Jackson
Narrated by: Andrew Eiden & Rachel L. Jacobs
Length: 10 hours 45 minutes

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Mary Cecilia Jackson's devastating but hopeful YA debut is about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future.

There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey

I thought I would be safe after my mother died. I thought I could... Read more »

Audiobook details

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

By Malinda Lo
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

Acclaimed author of Ash Malinda Lo returns with her most personal and ambitious novel yet, a gripping story of love and duty set in San Francisco's Chinatown during the 1950s.

"That book. It was about two women, and they fell in love with each other." And then Lily asked the question that had taken root in her, that was even now unfurling its... Read more »

Audiobook details

Treasure of the World

By Tara Sullivan
Narrated by: Gisela Chipe
Length: 11 hours 22 minutes

A young girl must find a way to help her family survive in a desolate and impoverished Bolivian silver mining community in this eye-opening tale of resilience.

Twelve-year-old Ana wants nothing more than to escape the future set for her and her classmates in her small mining village. Boys her age are beginning to leave school to become silver... Read more »

Audiobook details

Billy Miller Makes a Wish

By Kevin Henkes
Narrated by: Dan Bittner
Length: 2 hours 8 minutes

Billy Miller is back! The stand-alone companion to two-time Newbery Honor author Kevin Henkes’s award-winning, acclaimed, and bestselling The Year of Billy Miller, Billy Miller Makes a Wish is a laugh-out-loud funny and accessible story about summer, family, and wishes that (almost) come true. A great choice for young middle grade readers.

Billy... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more