Skip content
Bookseller Created
Tell it Like it Is! (Biographies & Memoirs)
All playlists

Tell it Like it Is! (Biographies & Memoirs)

"Memoir is about handing over your life to someone and saying, 'This is what I went through, this is who I am, and maybe you can learn something from it.'" - Jeannette Walls

The Dragons, the Giant, the Women

A Memoir

By: Wayétu Moore
Narrated by: Tovah Ott
Length: 7 hours 48 minutes

FINALIST FOR THE 2020 NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FOR AUTOBIOGRAPHYAn engrossing memoir of escaping the First Liberian Civil War and building a life in the United StatesWhen Wayétu Moore turns five years old, her father and grandmother throw her a big birthday party at their home in Monrovia, Liberia, but all she can think about is how... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Happiness Becomes You

By: Tina Turner
Narrated by: Adrienne Warren
Length: 4 hours 39 minutes

Tina Turner—legendary singer and actress, icon to millions, and author of the “brave and wry” (Vulture) memoir My Love Story—shares her deeply personal book of wisdom that explores her longstanding faith in Buddhism and provides a guide to these timeless principles so you can find happiness in your own life.

I dedicate this book to you…
in honor... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Sun Is a Compass

A 4,000-Mile Journey into the Alaskan Wilds

By: Caroline Van Hemert
Narrated by: Xe Sands
Length: 9 hours 1 minute

“The Sun is a Compass is a biologist’s candid journey of self discovery complete with aggressive bears, playful humpback whales, feisty hummingbirds and scolding chickadees. Heading into the most remote areas of Alaska and Canada, Caroline Van Hemert and her husband Pat rowed, rafted, hiked, skied and canoed 4000 miles from Bellingham, Washington... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have two audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Conditional Citizens

On Belonging in America

By: Laila Lalami
Narrated by: Laila Lalami
Length: 5 hours 48 minutes

A New York Times Editors' Choice • Best Book of the Year: Time, NPR, Bookpage, L.A. Times

What does it mean to be American? In this starkly illuminating and impassioned book, Pulitzer Prize­­–finalist Laila Lalami recounts her unlikely journey from Moroccan immigrant to U.S. citizen, using it as a starting point for her exploration of American... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Memorial Drive

A Daughter's Memoir

By: Natasha Trethewey
Narrated by: Natasha Trethewey
Length: 5 hours 9 minutes

“When poets write memoirs, I read them. And this shocking coming-of-age reflection on violence, race and motherless daughters evoked a subtle rage that later boiled and then recoiled in me by the end of the book. I am so grateful to witness Threthewey's survival on the page and in her own voice, as read in the audiobook. Unforgettable. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

By: Deborah Feldman
Narrated by: Rachel Botchan
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

And Other Lessons from the Crematory

By: Caitlin Doughty
Narrated by: Caitlin Doughty
Length: 7 hours 44 minutes

Most people want to avoid thinking about death, but Caitlin Doughty - a twenty-something with a degree in medieval history and a flair for the macabre - took a job at a crematory, turning morbid curiosity into her life's work. With an original voice that combines fearless curiosity and mordant wit, Caitlin tells an unusual coming-of-age story... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Choice

Escaping the Past and Embracing the Possible

By: Edith Eva Eger
Narrated by: Tovah Feldshuh
Length: 12 hours 26 minutes

A New York Times Bestseller

“I’ll be forever changed by Dr. Eger’s story…The Choice is a reminder of what courage looks like in the worst of times and that we all have the ability to pay attention to what we’ve lost, or to pay attention to what we still have.”—Oprah

“Dr. Eger’s life reveals our capacity to transcend even the greatest of horrors... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry

Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World's Most Famous Cooking School

By: Kathleen Flinn
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 10 hours 33 minutes

Read Kathleen Flinn's posts on the Penguin Blog.

This is the funny and inspiring account of Kathleen Flinn’s struggle in a stew of hot-tempered chefs, competitive classmates, her own “wretchedly inadequate” French, and the basics of French cuisine. Flinn was a thirty-six-year-old middle manager trapped on the corporate ladder—until her boss... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lady in Waiting

My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown

By: Anne Glenconner
Narrated by: Anne Glenconner
Length: 9 hours 8 minutes

Discover untold secrets with this extraordinary memoir of drama and tragedy by Anne Glenconner—a close member of the royal circle and lady-in-waiting to Princess Margaret. 

Anne Glenconner has been at the center of the royal circle from childhood, when she met and befriended the future Queen Elizabeth II and her sister, the Princess Margaret.... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account