Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Penguin Random House: Listen for Teens

This Poetry Collection is curated by Erin Murphy and beautifully capture feelings about identity, love, and growth. Budding young wordsmiths, prepare to be inspired.

Playlist Tags: AkooBooks genre: Poetry mood: love poetry growth

View all playlists

Every Body Looking

By Candice Iloh
Narrated by: Candice Iloh
Length: 2 hours 53 minutes

A Finalist for the National Book Award

When Ada leaves home for her freshman year at a Historically Black College, it’s the first time she’s ever been so far from her family—and the first time that she’s been able to make her own choices and to seek her place in this new world. As she stumbles deeper into the world of dance and explores her... Read more »
Audiobook details

The One Thing You'd Save

By Linda Sue Park
Narrated by: Nancy Wu, Maxwell Glick, Elizabeth Pan & Full Cast
Length: 23 minutes

If your house were on fire, what one thing would you save? Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park explores different answers to this provocative question in linked poems that capture the diverse voices of a middle school class. 

When a teacher asks her class what one thing they would save in an emergency, some students know the answer right away. Others... Read more »
Audiobook details

Starfish

By Lisa Fipps
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
Length: 3 hours 27 minutes

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this poignant debut novel-in-verse.

Ever since Ellie wore a whale swimsuit and made a big splash at her fifth birthday party, she's been bullied about her weight. To cope, she tries to live by the Fat Girl Rules—like "no making waves," "avoid eating in public," and "don't move so... Read more »
Audiobook details

When the Stars Wrote Back

Poems

By Trista Mateer
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Length: 56 minutes

In the vein of poetry collections like Milk and Honey and Light Filters In, this compilation of short, powerful poems from Instagram sensation Trista Mateer shines beauty and insight into relationships, love, growing up, and learning to cope.

When the Stars Wrote Back features completely new material, plus some fan favorites from Trista's... Read more »
Audiobook details

Chlorine Sky

By Mahogany L. Browne
Narrated by: Mahogany L. Browne
Length: 2 hours 4 minutes

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X 

She looks me hard in my... Read more »
Audiobook details

Home Is Not a Country

By Safia Elhillo
Narrated by: Safia Elhillo & Christopher Myers
Length: 3 hours 10 minutes

Home Is Not a Country

“I'm not even finished with the book and already know it is a standout of the year. The fresh, tender, unique way that Nima struggles to find a place to call home within herself is so much more than a coming-of-age novel or an immigrant story. Through the surreal exploration of who she could have been, Nima tells a wrenchingly real, oh-so-human story that transcends genre. This is a novel that asks readers of any age 'what will you do with your one, wild and precious life?.' ”

Books Inc. image Summer, Books Inc.
Audiobook details