Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Tattered Cover Book Clubs

See what we're reading this month that's available in audio! We offer a variety of virtual book clubs all meeting once per month. Please visit our Book Clubs page for more information on the book clubs. We invite anyone and everyone to join us for one (or more!) of this month's book club meetings. Each meeting is $5 (plus processing fees) to cover our professional, genre-specific, book-loving moderators. Please email bookclubs@tatteredcover.com with any questions you may have!

Playlist Tags: Tattered Cover genre: Non-Classifiable topic: food topic: cooking audience: book clubs topic: non-fiction topic: fantasy topic: history topic: scifi topic: nature topic: fiction topic: science topic: author events topic: teen topic: local topic: classics

View all playlists

Hamnet

A novel

By Maggie O'Farrell
Narrated by: Ell Potter
Length: 12 hours 42 minutes

Hamnet

“Fans of A. S. Byatt, Penelope Fitzgerald, or Barbara Gowdy... are probably really tired of retellings of Shakespeare's life. Why read another? Because it so breathtakingly captures emotion. Because the opening sequence is one of the best expositions and descriptions of Shakespeare's Stratford you'll ever hear. Because the reimagining of Shakespeare's wife as a half-wild greenwitch sounds absurd, but in fact is compelling and captivating. Because it is not a charming puzzle box of references to multiple plays: it's the history of Shakespeare's depth of feeling, renewed in a story every strong and imaginative woman will find core-shaking and inspiring.”

The Haunted Bookshop image Nialle, The Haunted Bookshop
Audiobook details

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived

The Human Story Retold Through Our Genes

By Adam Rutherford & Siddhartha Mukherjee
Narrated by: Adam Rutherford
Length: 12 hours 13 minutes

A National Geographic Best Book of the Year In our unique genomes, every one of us carries the story of our species—births, deaths, disease, war, famine, migration, and a lot of sex. But those stories have always been locked away—until now. Who are our ancestors? Where did they come from? Geneticists have suddenly become historians, and the hard... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Library Book

By Susan Orlean
Narrated by: Susan Orlean
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

The Library Book

“The Library Book by Susan Orleans is ostensibly about the Central Los Angeles library fire in 1986 but it is SO much more! Orleans' incredibly well researched and yet personal history and commentary on the public library system in the United States is fascinating on many levels. The mystery surrounding the fire is a story unto itself with an interesting cast of characters including the man who was accused but never convicted of arson. In addition, the personalities of the librarians and administrators of the LA library system are varied and incredibly colorful. Finally, Orleans examines the ever-changing roles of public libraries and how information dissemination and services for the homeless are some of the greatest challenges facing libraries today. I listened to this book on LIBRO and hearing Susan Orleans read was a joy! Really a terrific read for anyone interested in books, libraries, social justice, architecture and even crime drama!”

Wellesley Books image Phyllis, Wellesley Books
Audiobook details

A Darker Shade of Magic

A Darker Shade of Magic: Book #1

By V. E. Schwab
Narrated by: Steven Crossley
Length: 11 hours 34 minutes

Kell is one of the last Travelers—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes—as such, he can choose where he lands. There's Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, ruled by a mad King George. Then there's Red London, where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lowering Days

A Novel

By Gregory Brown
Narrated by: Nicole Altvater & David Aaron Baker
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

“In The Lowering Days Gregory Brown gives us a lush, almost mythic portrait of a very specific place and time that feels all the more universal for its singularity. There’s magic here.” —Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Empire Falls and Chances Are

A promising literary star makes his debut with this emotionally powerful saga, set... Read more »

Audiobook details

Save Me the Plums

My Gourmet Memoir

By Ruth Reichl
Narrated by: Ruth Reichl
Length: 7 hours 54 minutes

Save Me the Plums

“Disclosure: I am not a foodie even though I am married to a former chef. What sparked my interest in Save Me The Plums was the subject - Gourmet Magazine. Although neither of my parents could cook to save their lives, we always proudly displayed and saved every copy of Gourmet Magazine that came with our yearly subscription. I listened to the audio which is read by the author, Ruth Reichl, who went from food critic to editor in chief of Gourmet Magazine. Most times, I don't like the author reading their own books because of the poor delivery. Not in this case - Reichl does a fabulous job with her reading. The details of the inner workings of Conde Nast were fascinating. Although she was not a self-proclaimed feminist, she knew instinctively how to handle tense situations as well as difficult people. I enjoyed hearing about everything from the strong personalities of the staff to the beautiful offices and test kitchen. There are also mouthwatering recipes included in this memoir. I may not have been a foodie when I began Save The Plums but thanks to Ruth Reichl, I have a whole new appreciation for food and a successful food magazine. I highly recommend this delicious memoir.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Melinda, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

The Cooking Gene

A Journey Through African-american Culinary History in the Old South

By Michael W. Twitty
Narrated by: Michael W. Twitty
Length: 15 hours 20 minutes

Southern food is integral to the American culinary tradition, yet the question of who "owns" it is one of the most provocative touchpoints in our ongoing struggles over race. In this unique memoir, culinary historian Michael W. Twitty takes listeners to the white-hot center of this fight, tracing the roots of his own family and the charged... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Demon-Haunted World

Science as a Candle in the Dark

By Carl Sagan
Narrated by: Cary Elwes, Seth MacFarlane & Ann Druyan
Length: 17 hours 23 minutes

A prescient warning of a future we now inhabit, where fake news stories and Internet conspiracy theories play to a disaffected American populace

“A glorious book . . . A spirited defense of science . . . From the first page to the last, this book is a manifesto for clear thought.”—Los Angeles Times

How can we make intelligent decisions about our... Read more »

Audiobook details

Caste (Oprah's Book Club)

The Origins of Our Discontents

By Isabel Wilkerson
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 14 hours 25 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD LONGLIST • “An instant American classic and almost certainly the keynote nonfiction book of the American century thus far.”—Dwight Garner, The New York Times

The Pulitzer Prize–winning, bestselling author of The Warmth of Other Suns examines the unspoken caste system that... Read more »

Audiobook details