Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Intersectional Feminist Recs

Every month, yours truly, Kalima DeSuze, curates a list of recommended books! These books, old and new, represent the titles we feel have risen to the top and should be on your playlist. They're not always the most "popular" books on the market; we tend to go against the grain. They are definitely books worthy of a platform.

Playlist Tags: Cafe con Libros

View all playlists

Memorial Drive

A Daughter's Memoir

By Natasha Trethewey
Narrated by: Natasha Trethewey
Length: 5 hours 9 minutes

Memorial Drive

“This is one of those "I'm changed forever" books and having the author, poet Natasha Trethewey read it makes it reverberate in the soul even more. The writing of this memoir is exquisite and the construction of the prose is perfect. The heartbreak and honesty of the author will stay with me. I can't wait to hear back from those I've recommended it to, they're in for a special experience.”

Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery image Jen, Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery
Audiobook details

Once I Was You

A Memoir of Love and Hate in a Torn America

By Maria Hinojosa
Narrated by: Maria Hinojosa
Length: 12 hours 12 minutes

NPR’s Best Books of 2020
BookPage’s Best Books of 2020
Real Simple’s Best Books of 2020
Boston.com readers voted one of Best Books of 2020

“Anyone striving to understand and improve this country should read her story.” —Gloria Steinem, author of My Life on the Road

The Emmy Award–winning journalist and anchor of NPR’s Latino USA tells the story... Read more »

Audiobook details

Wandering in Strange Lands

A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots

By Morgan Jerkins
Narrated by: Morgan Jerkins
Length: 8 hours 3 minutes

Wandering in Strange Lands

“In Wandering in Strange Lands, Morgan Jerkins brings us along on her journey to learn about her ancestors and herself. This fascinating ethnography leads Jerkins down paths she anticipated and, perhaps most interestingly, down unexpected ones. As she learns more about where and whom she came from, she confronts her image of herself and grapples with some of the truths she finds. Jerkens’s journey takes us first to the Lowcountry of South Carolina and Georgia, home of the Gullah Geechee people, and then to Louisiana and its Creole people. In both places, she learns much about her mother’s and father’s families. From there, we travel to Oklahoma where Jerkins explores connections between Native Americans and African Americans, searching for information about the claims in her family of Native American ancestry. And finally, we land in Los Angeles, where Jerkins’s research culminates in a thoughtful and insightful examination of what it means to be Black in the United States. The history, the people, the insight, and the implications of the information in this book make it not only incredibly interesting, but also a significant contribution to our understanding of cultures and connections in the United States.”

Raven Book Store image Nancy, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Lobizona

A Novel
Wolves of No World: Book #1

By Romina Garber
Narrated by: Sol Madariaga
Length: 12 hours 33 minutes

Lobizona

“In LABIZONA, Romina Garber weaves Argentinian folklore with the ache to belong somewhere completely. She plays with identity, gender, and family to create a magical landscape in which an entire culture must recognize that they have been complicit in a societal structure that hurts anyone who does not fit in. Manuela is undocumented in both worlds, which means her story is unwritten, ready for her to choose how she wants it to be told. At times these choices are between two heartbreaking options, but making the choice empowers Manuela and those around her to not let others dictate their lives. There is a lot going on in this book, but I enjoyed getting to know the characters and look forward to following their story in the future. Content warnings for ICE raids, police brutality, family separation, discussions of forced pregnancy, homophobia.”

Page 158 Books image Faith, Page 158 Books
Audiobook details

This Is Major

Notes on Diana Ross, Dark Girls, and Being Dope

By Shayla Lawson
Narrated by: Shayla Lawson
Length: 8 hours 48 minutes

From a fierce and humorous new voice comes a relevant, insightful, and riveting collection of personal essays on the richness and resilience of black girl culture—for readers of Samantha Irby, Roxane Gay, Morgan Jerkins, and Lindy West. 

Shayla Lawson is major. You don’t know who she is. Yet. But that’s okay. She is on a mission to move black... Read more »

Audiobook details

Luster

A Novel

By Raven Leilani
Narrated by: Ariel Blake
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

Luster

Luster centers on Edie, a young black woman working in New York publishing and barely making rent each month, who finds herself navigating a suburban white couple’s open marriage. This novel is filled with unexpected turns taken at breakneck speeds. It seamlessly examines the plight of millennials living under capitalism along with the complications of intimacy and race, all while finding both the humor and profound sadness in those things. This is a multifaceted and brilliant book, as well as an extraordinary debut from Raven Leilani.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Billy Butler, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

The Taste of Sugar

By Marisel Vera
Narrated by: Kyla García
Length: 12 hours 55 minutes

Marisel Vera emerges as a major voice of contemporary fiction with a heart-wrenching novel set in Puerto Rico on the eve of the Spanish-American War. It is 1898, and groups of starving Puerto Ricans, los hambrientos, roam the parched countryside and dusty towns begging for food. Under the yoke of Spanish oppression, the Caribbean island is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fat Girls in Black Bodies

Creating Communities of Our Own

By Joy Arlene Renee Cox, Ph.D., Ta'lor L. Pinkston & Jill Andrew, Ph.D.
Narrated by: Gwendolyn Carter
Length: 4 hours 57 minutes

Combatting fatphobia and racism to reclaim a space of belonging at the intersection of fat, Black, and female.

To live in a body at the intersection of fat, Black, and female is to be on the margins. From concern-trolling--"I just want you to be healthy"--to outright attacks, fat Black bodies that fall outside dominant constructs of beauty and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

What Would Frida Do?

A Guide to Living Boldly

By Arianna Davis
Narrated by: Marisa Blake
Length: 5 hours 24 minutes

Revered as much for her fierce spirit as she is for her art, Frida Kahlo stands today as a brazen symbol of daring creativity. She was a woman ahead of her time whose paintings have earned her generations of admirers around the globe. But perhaps her greatest work of art was her own life.What Would Frida Do? explores the feminist icon's... Read more »

Audiobook details

Big Friendship

How We Keep Each Other Close

By Aminatou Sow & Ann Friedman
Narrated by: Aminatou Sow & Ann Friedman
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

A close friendship is one of the most influential and important relationships a human life can contain. Anyone will tell you that! But for all the rosy sentiments surrounding friendship, most people don’t talk much about what it really takes to stay close for the long haul.

Now two friends, Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman, tell the story of their... Read more »

Audiobook details

Furia

By Yamile Saied Méndez
Narrated by: Sol Madariaga
Length: 8 hours 51 minutes

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. 
 
At home, she is a careful daughter, living within... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ordinary Girls

A Memoir

By Jaquira Diaz
Narrated by: Almarie Guerra
Length: 10 hours 8 minutes

Ordinary Girls

“Too often, those of us who grow up below the federal poverty line spend the rest of our lives erasing ourselves. If we manage to migrate out of poverty, we do so at a cost. The gatekeepers of academia, and of literature, often only want to hear our stories if we make a spectacle of our people, or if we tell our stories in the language of the elite at the expense of our own voices. I think this is one of the most powerful things about Ordinary Girls. Díaz tells her sad and beautiful stories in her own voice, a voice that still holds the people and the places that made her. What a gift. Growing up poor means that we are taught, every day and in a million tiny ways, that our families are wrong, our speech is ugly, our stories shameful. This is oppression and Díaz banishes it with beauty, love, honesty, and insight. Ordinary Girls is a book that makes me feel less alone in this world.”

Klindt's Booksellers image Tina Ontiveros, Klindt's Booksellers
Audiobook details

Mexican Gothic

A Novel

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

Mexican Gothic

“A bit spooky with some underlining themes of science and the power of racism. There’s a feel of modern Bronte sisters here which adds to the intrigue of this original gothic tale. I loved Noemi, the well-educated bright young protagonist who has a great sense of justice and can stare down evil all while being sophisticated and alluring. Great listening!”

Bookworm of Edwards image Karin, Bookworm of Edwards
Audiobook details