Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Black Voices Old and New

Celebrate Black voices during Black History Month and beyond with the 100 books in this playlist. From picture books to adult literary fiction and memoir to high fantasy, there's something for everyone in this list.

Playlist Tags: Asbury Book Cooperative genre: Non-Classifiable season: black history month topic: black authors

View all playlists

New Kid

By Jerry Craft
Narrated by: Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey & Ron Butler
Length: 1 hours 58 minutes

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist—Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Awakening of Malcolm X

A Novel

By Ilyasah Shabazz & Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Landon Woodson
Length: 7 hours 54 minutes

The Awakening of Malcolm X

“Although this was written for young readers, I found it to be an engaging and informative look at the life and incarceration that helped mold Malcolm X into the leaders that he was. The narrating was wonderfully done, and I would recommend this for readers of all ages.”

Skylark Bookshop image Mary, Skylark Bookshop
Audiobook details

Dear Martin

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 4 hours 32 minutes

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

"A must-read!” –ANGIE THOMAS, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry...
Read more »

Audiobook details

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

A Novel

By Cherie Jones
Narrated by: Danielle Vitalis
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise”

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Chlorine Sky

By Mahogany L. Browne
Narrated by: Mahogany L. Browne
Length: 2 hours 4 minutes

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X 

She looks me hard in my... Read more »

Audiobook details

Just as I Am

A Memoir

By Cicely Tyson
Narrated by: Cicely Tyson, Viola Davis & Robin Miles
Length: 16 hours 8 minutes

“In her long and extraordinary career, Cicely Tyson has not only exceeded as an actor, she has shaped the course of history.” –President Barack Obama, 2016 Presidential Medal of Honor ceremony

"Just As I Am is my truth. It is me, plain and unvarnished, with the glitter and garland set aside. Here, I am indeed Cicely, the actress who has been... Read more »

Audiobook details

Saga Boy

My Life of Blackness and Becoming

By Antonio Michael Downing
Narrated by: Antonio Michael Downing
Length: 11 hours 45 minutes

The triumph of Saga Boy is the triumph of Blackness everywhere--the irrepressible instinct for survival in a world where Blacks are prey."
--Ian Williams, Giller Prize-winning author of Reproduction

An enthralling, deeply personal account of a young immigrant's search for belonging and Black identity amid the long-lasting effects of cultural...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones: Book #1

By Namina Forna
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 12 hours 46 minutes

The Gilded Ones

“This is a bold and powerful book about the bonds of sisterhood and finding your strength. This story is as rich and vivid as the cover is (which is AMAZING)—a tantalizing fantasy with a splash of mystery, fierce, magical warriors, dangerous monsters, and a war-ravaged empire. Absolutely fantastic!”

The Well-Read Moose image Anna, The Well-Read Moose
Audiobook details

American Street

By Ibi Zoboi
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 8 hours 34 minutes

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American... Read more »

Audiobook details

Your Corner Dark

By Desmond Hall
Narrated by: Karl O'Brian Williams
Length: 10 hours 12 minutes

American Street meets Long Way Down in this searing and gritty debut novel that takes an unflinching look at the harsh realities of gang life in Jamaica and how far a teen is willing to go for family.

Things can change in a second:

The second Frankie Green gets that scholarship letter, he has his ticket out of Jamaica.

The second his longtime... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Underground Railroad (Oprah's Book Club)

A Novel

By Colson Whitehead
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 10 hours 43 minutes

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, the #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. Life is hell for all the slaves, but especially... Read more »

Audiobook details

Becoming

By Michelle Obama
Narrated by: Michelle Obama
Length: 19 hours 1 minutes

Becoming

“I adore our former president and I miss him. Yet I cannot help but be ecstatic that Michelle is coming out with a book about her own life so that I can learn more about this powerful, intelligent, and singularly awesome woman. Barack would be the first to say that his wife is a superstar, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Becoming to read about her in her own words.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jax, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Audiobook details

An American Marriage

A Novel

By Tayari Jones
Narrated by: Sean Crisden & Eisa Davis
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

An American Marriage

“Tayari Jones comes in fierce with An American Marriage. Delving into the lives of the newly married Roy and Celestial, this is a novel that pulls no punches from beginning to end. I won't ruin the surprise, but they're hit with a harrowing event that will define not only their relationship, but each of their lives, forever. Writing with an intensity and pace worthy of Donna Tartt, Jones yanks us into her characters' lives with a grip that never lets up. I cannot wait to put this in people's hands!”

Angela Spring image Angela Spring, Duende District
Audiobook details

Hunger

A Memoir of (My) Body

By Roxane Gay
Narrated by: Roxane Gay
Length: 5 hours 57 minutes

Hunger

“This memoir is about trauma and privilege, self-loathing, and a silent fear kept secret for far too long. It's about our obsession with body weight and body image, what happens when we internalize our pain and become self-destructive, and how very, very large people are treated in humiliating ways. The descriptions of addictive behavior and the journey to want to heal make this book more universal than I expected. When you decide that this is the day you're going to change and you get out of bed and fail, that's pretty normal. You'll have another chance tomorrow - just remember to like yourself enough to overcome the fear of healing and try again. Highly recommend.”

Arcadia Books image Todd Miller, Arcadia Books
Audiobook details

Sing, Unburied, Sing

A Novel

By Jesmyn Ward
Narrated by: Kelvin Harrison, Jr., Chris Chalk & Rutina Wesley
Length: 8 hours 22 minutes

Sing, Unburied, Sing

“Sing, Unburied, Sing is a dark and gorgeous song of love and heartbreak, haunting and tragic and disorienting in its timelessness. The Deepwater Horizon oil spill anchors Ward's tale to Mississippi today, which is almost indistinguishable from its notorious yesterday, a present and past (ironically) made more alive in the novel by ghosts and where everyone suffers from the cancers of buried sins. On Jojo's 13th birthday, while Mam is dying and Pop struggles to keep everyone safe, Leonie plans a road trip to the prison to pick up Michael, Jojo and baby Kayla's father. It's The Odyssey meets the Delta blues meets William Faulkner and Toni Morrison and some ineffable something that is Jesmyn Ward's own magic.”

Hudson Booksellers image Sara Hinckley, Hudson Booksellers
Audiobook details

Invisible Man

By Ralph Ellison
Narrated by: Joe Morton
Length: 18 hours 38 minutes

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best novels of all time

Ralph Elllison's Invisible Man is a monumental novel, one that can well be called an epic of modern American Negro life. It is a strange story, in which many extraordinary things happen, some of them shocking and brutal, some of them pitiful and touching--yet always with... Read more »

Audiobook details

If Beale Street Could Talk

A Novel

By James Baldwin
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 7 minutes

In this honest and stunning novel, James Baldwin has given America a moving story of love in the face of injustice. Told through the eyes of Tish, a nineteen-year-old girl in love with Fonny, a young sculptor who is the father of her child, Baldwin’s story mixes the sweet and the sad.Tish and Fonny have pledged to get married, but Fonny is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Go Tell It on the Mountain

By James Baldwin
Narrated by: Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 8 hours 44 minutes

James Baldwin’s stunning first novel is now an American classic. With startling realism that brings Harlem and the black experience vividly to life, this is a work that touches the heart with emotion while it stimulates the mind with its narrative style, symbolism, and excoriating vision of racism in America. Moving through time from the rural... Read more »

Audiobook details

Their Eyes Were Watching God

By Zora Neale Hurston
Narrated by: Ruby Dee
Length: 6 hours 44 minutes

“A deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who don’t know how to live properly.” —Zadie Smith

One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love... Read more »

Audiobook details

Antiracist Baby

By Ibram X. Kendi
Narrated by: Shayna Small & Guy Lockard
Length: 4 minutes

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a fresh new audiobook that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves, now with added discussion prompts to help listeners recognize and reflect on bias in their daily lives.

Featured on Good Morning... Read more »

Audiobook details