Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

2021 Tuma's BOTM Titles

Tuma's Book of the Month Box highlights BIPOC books. Check out the audiobooks of my 2021 selections.

Playlist Tags: Tuma's Books and Things culturally diverse characters botm bookbox diverse

View all playlists

Elatsoe

By Darcie Little Badger
Length: 9 hours 1 minutes

Imagine an America very similar to our own. It's got homework, best friends, and pistachio ice cream.There are some differences. This America has been shaped dramatically by the magic, monsters, knowledge, and legends of its peoples, those Indigenous and those not. Some of these forces are charmingly every day, like the ability to make an orb of... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Am Malala

The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

By Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb
Narrated by: Archie Panjabi
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE

As seen on Netflix with David Letterman
"I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday."

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to... Read more »

Audiobook details

Malala

My Story of Standing Up for Girls' Rights

By Malala Yousafzai & Sarah J. Robbins
Narrated by: Neela Vaswani
Length: 2 hours 16 minutes

A chapter book edition of Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai's bestselling story of courageously standing up for girls' education.

Malala's powerful memoir of risking her life for the right to go to school is now abridged and adapted for chapter book readers.
Raised in a changing Pakistan by an enlightened father from a poor... Read more »

Audiobook details

Other Words for Home

By Jasmine Warga
Narrated by: Vaneh Assadourian
Length: 3 hours 49 minutes

Other Words for Home

“The new words, tasting like America, on our lips." A beautifully-written story of a young Syrian girl's journey to Cincinnati and learning to live her everyday life of a school kid in America. Jude struggles to be brave in making new friends, in auditioning for the school play and in thinking of her brother and father back home.”

River Bend Bookshop image Ernio, River Bend Bookshop
Audiobook details

Serena Singh Flips the Script

By Sonya Lalli
Narrated by: Ulka Simone Mohanty
Length: 8 hours 37 minutes

Serena Singh is tired of everyone telling her what she should want--and she is ready to prove to her mother, her sister, and the aunties in her community that a woman does not need domestic bliss to have a happy life.

Things are going according to plan for Serena. She’s smart, confident, and just got a kick-ass new job at a top advertising firm... Read more »

Audiobook details

Love After Love

A Novel

By Ingrid Persaud
Narrated by: Ingrid Persaud
Length: 11 hours 46 minutes

“A stellar debut . . . about an unconventional family, fear, hatred, violence, chasing love, losing it and finding it again just when we need it most.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK AWARD • “A wonder . . . [This book] teems with real, Trinidadian life.”—Claire Adam, award-winning author of Golden Child
 
One of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Cantoras

A novel

By Carolina De Robertis
Narrated by: Carolina De Robertis
Length: 13 hours 37 minutes

"Cantoras is a stunning lullaby to revolution—and each woman in this novel sings it with a deep ferocity. Again and again, I was lifted, then gently set down again—either through tears, rage, or laughter. Days later, I am still inside this song of a story." —Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award–winning author

From the highly acclaimed,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Stone Sky

The Broken Earth: Book #3

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 14 hours 16 minutes

The Stone Sky: Booktrack Edition adds an immersive musical soundtrack to your audiobook listening experience! *
Humanity will finally be saved or destroyed in the shattering conclusion to the post-apocalyptic and highly acclaimed NYT bestselling trilogy that won the Hugo Award three years in a row.
The Moon will soon return. Whether this... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

The Obelisk Gate: Booktrack Edition

The Broken Earth: Book #2

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 13 hours 19 minutes

Essun's missing daughter grows more powerful every day, and her choices may destroy the world in this "magnificent" Hugo Award winner and NYT Notable Book. (NPR)

The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night.

Essun -- once Damaya, once Syenite, now avenger -- has found shelter, but not her daughter. Instead... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Fifth Season

The Broken Earth: Book #1

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 15 hours 27 minutes

The Fifth Season

“The Fifth Season is an amazing, dark, and gripping work that will hook you from the first sentence. I cannot express to you how much this book stunned me. Robin's narration is well paced and engaging. While I wish this was a book for everyone to listen to, it isn't; destruction, trauma, and rage follow the women and girls who tell their stories. This book is about the end of the world, that you actually don't want to stop reading.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time
Audiobook details

Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick

Stories from the Harlem Renaissance

By Zora Neale Hurston
Narrated by: Aunjanue Ellis
Length: 8 hours 57 minutes

Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick

“Zora Neale Hurston’s (Their Eyes Were Watching God, Barracoon) body of work continues to grow and impress. In Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick, 21 short stories, including several “lost” pieces depicting the Great Migration to northern cities and Harlem’s educated New Negro middle class, offer an updated perspective of Hurston’s Harlem Renaissance-era cultural commentary. These stories, written in the 1920s and 30s, explore toxic masculinity and women’s agency, urban vs. rural class representations, colorism/shadeism, identity politics, and the intersectionality of race, class, age, and gender in a way that remains relevant today. And, by using humor, folklore, and her unique combination of delicate prose and vernacular speech, Hurston also has written thoroughly engaging slices-of-life, always centering Black characters, from a very specific time period. To fully appreciate Hurston’s stories, Tayari Jones (An American Marriage) recommends in her foreword, “reading this work aloud, enjoying the feel of the words in your mouth, and the sound of English tightened and strummed like the strings of a banjo.””

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details

When No One Is Watching

A Thriller

By Alyssa Cole
Narrated by: Susan Dalian & Jay Aaseng
Length: 8 hours 29 minutes

When No One Is Watching

“Cole’s thriller exposes the underbelly of gentrification and prosperity, taking a searing look at systemic racism. When a pharmaceutical firm plans to move its headquarters to a historically Black Brooklyn neighborhood, an influx of rich white people displace Black residents from their homes and their roots. Timely, groundbreaking, and thought-provoking, When No One Is Watching is essential reading for the #BlackLivesMatter movement.”

Copper Dog Books image Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books
Audiobook details

Felix Ever After

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 8 hours 23 minutes

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy... Read more »

Audiobook details

Concrete Rose

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Girl with the Louding Voice

A Novel

By Abi Daré
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 12 hours 6 minutes

The Girl with the Louding Voice

“This year is overflowing with phenomenal debuts — including this one from Abi Daré. It tells the story of Adunni, a young girl in Nigeria whose dreams and ambition focus in on one thing: education. In a city where girls like her are looked down upon and considered unworthy, she comes to find that change can begin with even the smallest of voices. This story is the kind that makes you itch: you’ll ache for Adunni, bristle at the people who treat her so unjustly, and yearn for her to succeed. This is a stunning, important, and fascinating first novel.”

Lindsay Howard image Lindsay Howard, Lark and Owl Booksellers
Audiobook details

The Alchemist

By Paulo Coelho
Narrated by: Jeremy Irons
Length: 4 hours

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.

Paulo Coelho’s masterpiece tells the magical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Year of Yes

How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person

By Shonda Rhimes
Narrated by: Shonda Rhimes
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

2017 Audie Award Finalist for Audiobook of the Year

The instant New York Times bestseller from the creator of Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal and executive producer of How to Get Away With Murder shares how saying YES changed her life. “As fun to read as Rhimes’s TV series are to watch” (Los Angeles Times).

She’s the creator and producer of some of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Furia

By Yamile Saied Méndez
Narrated by: Sol Madariaga
Length: 8 hours 51 minutes

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. 
 
At home, she is a careful daughter, living within... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Girl Unlimited

The Remarkable Story of a Teenage Wizard

By Echo Brown
Narrated by: Echo Brown
Length: 8 hours 29 minutes

This program is read by the author

"Just brilliant."—Kirkus Reviews

Heavily autobiographical and infused with magical realism, Black Girl Unlimited fearlessly explores the intersections of poverty, sexual violence, depression, racism, and sexism—all through the arc of a transcendent coming-of-age story for fans of Renee Watson's Piecing Me...
Read more »

Audiobook details

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 6 hours 45 minutes

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules.... Read more »

Audiobook details