Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Middle Reader Favorites

Middle Reader Favorites

Our favorite middle reader listens. Appropriate for ages 8-13.

Playlist Tags: Sidekick Coffee & Books genre: Children's

View all playlists

Ikenga

By Nnedi Okorafor
Narrated by: Ben Onwukwe
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Nnedi Okorafor's acclaimed first novel for middle grade children introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga.

Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Memory Thief

Thirteen Witches

By Jodi Lynn Anderson
Narrated by: Carlotta Brentan
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

“This expertly crafted story thrums with magic, love, and tense action.” —Booklist (starred review)

Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, this fantastical and heartfelt first book in a new trilogy from critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson follows a girl who must defeat thirteen evil... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

If you enjoyed The Trials of Apollo, Book One: The Hidden Oracle, then you’ll love Amari and the Night Brothers.

“This book was fun! As a reference point, I would say it's a Spy Kids/Men in Black/Percy Jackson/Harry Potter hybrid but honestly, it's in a class all of it's own. Amari was a wonderful main character. She is super smart and caring and despite the absolute terribleness of her peers, prevails by learning to trust herself and use her talents to stand out. There was lots of blatant and unpunished racism, classism, and and brutal meanness coming from the majority of Amari's classmates, both in the non-supernatural world and in the Bureau. On their first day, all trainees have to touch a magical orb and one of their already present abilities gets magnified and becomes a special ability (ie general luckiness becomes unnatural/always happens luckiness). When Amari is bestowed with an illegal ability, she becomes the target of both racism and a form of intense otherism in the supernatural world. I also loved her friendship with Elsie, who was the last of weredragons (like werewolves but for dragons!) and suffered her own share of bullies and otherism for being a bit dorky and for not having shifted to her dragon form yet. The audiobook edition of this novel was well done. Imani Parks gives a perfect voice to Amari and the other young main characters. This is a great read for juvenile readers (anywhere from advanced an advance 8/9 years to teens) and is fun and exciting for adults as well so would also be a great read-aloud book for guardians with younger readers. I would recommend for avid Percy Jackson and Harry Potter fans, those that enjoy spy or adventure books, and even those who enjoy fairy tale epics.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

This Is Your Time

By Ruby Bridges
Narrated by: Ruby Bridges
Length: 13 minutes

This Is Your Time

“So much packed into this little book (read by Ruby Bridges). The story, the experience, the vision behind the often seen picture of young Ruby being escorted into school. Insightful, awe inspiring, and brave.”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Wolf Called Wander

By Rosanne Parry
Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne
Length: 3 hours 53 minutes

If you enjoyed The Call of the Wild, then you’ll love A Wolf Called Wander.

“Kids who loved The Call of the Wild by Jack London will enjoy this upcoming novel. This middle reader is set entirely from the point of view of a young wolf who is trying to find his way to a new home after his family was defeated by a rival wolf pack. A great book to give kids a new perspective and insight into what it may be like to be a wild animal surviving on the edges of human civilization. Animal lovers, adventurers, or kids involved with nature will want to read this one.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Amy, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Pages & Co.: The Bookwanderers

Pages & Co.: Book #1

By Anna James
Narrated by: Aysha Kala
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

Pages & Co.: The Bookwanderers

“Anna James creates every book nerds fantasy -- what if you could go into your favorite books and your favorite characters could come to life? Sounds great right? Until you stumble into the pages of Treasure Island and are being accused of stowaways by Captain Flint himself! This is a truly delightful read tying together the classical characters with bookshop lore. Very fun for all.”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The List of Things That Will Not Change

By Rebecca Stead
Narrated by: Rachel L. Jacobs
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

The List of Things That Will Not Change

“Rebecca Stead has written yet another layered novel about familial love in its myriad of forms. When her parents divorce, Bea is given a journal to write down things that will remain constant in her life. When her dad announces that he is marrying his boyfriend Jesse, Bea is excited to gain a sister. With the help of her notebook and her kind therapist, Bea is ahor.ble to work through her feelings (mostly her anger management ones). It's a quiet book that will resonate with Stead’s fans and hopefully garner new ones.”

Blue Willow Bookshop image Valerie, Blue Willow Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Raymie Nightingale

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship.

Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Beast and the Bethany

The Beast and the Bethany

By Jack Meggitt-Phillips
Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
Length: 4 hours 33 minutes

The Beast and the Bethany

“As one of my coworkers so aptly put it, Ebenezer Tweezer is an absolute twit. He’s what would happen if Lemony Snicket impersonated Stephen Fry. He’s like Dorian Gray but hilariously worse. I blew through the audiobook for this one and couldn’t stop laughing all the way through. This is the absurdly British spot of sunshine – or talkative grey smudge on the sole of my shoe – that I need in my life.”

Rediscovered Books image Kvothe, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account