Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Sci-Fi / Fantasy

Fun Sci-Fi and Fantasy Audiobooks

Playlist Tags: Chapter One Book Store

View all playlists

The City We Became

A Novel
The Great Cities Trilogy: Book #1

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 16 hours 12 minutes

The City We Became

“What did I just listen to and why did I like it so much? Part of falling in love with this book was the listening experience, to be certain. The narration was stellar. The production was on point. But the story... the story itself is sublime. N.K. Jemisin has written a love letter to New York City - but not the one in bright, bold letters on the silver screen - the real city, and the real people who inhabit it and call it home, even if only temporarily. And it was beyond my wildest dreams (and nightmares). The City We Became is so incredibly layered and nuanced - diving into discussions of racism and sexism and the fallacy of good vs evil. I wanted nothing more than to steep in its long chapters, and get to know its boroughs as intimately as Jemisin would allow - not mere stereotypes but fully fleshed and brilliant, blinding avatars. Witty, subversive, imaginative, unbelievable. Get on this wild ride.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

By Roseanne A. Brown
Narrated by: Jordan Cobb & A.J. Beckles
Length: 12 hours 3 minutes

If you enjoyed Children of Blood and Bone, then you’ll love A Song of Wraiths and Ruin.

“You know you can always count me in for a good enemies to lovers trope. But A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is so much more. A true gem of a fantasy that grapples with grief, anxiety, and growing into yourself in an engaging, accessible, and REAL way. The characters are fully fleshed out, and continue to grow as the story evolves - Karina is a true queen unlike any other even if she's still learning to see it herself; Malik is stronger than he thinks. The worldbuilding is sublime, and Brown treats her villains with the respect and backstories they deserve. And after that ending, I desperately need to know what happens next.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

D (A Tale of Two Worlds)

A Novel

By Michel Faber
Narrated by: Isabel Adomakoh Young
Length: 6 hours 54 minutes

D (A Tale of Two Worlds)

“This hilarious fantasy novel is unlike anything I've read (or listened to!) before. A young woman wakes up one morning to find that the letter D doesn't exist anymore, meaning that her own name—Dhikilo—is no longer said correctly. Things including the letter disappear too—Dogs and Donkeys and Dentists, all totally gone! She can't figure out what happened, but soon finds herself on a journey to another realm to save the world, with the help of her old favorite teacher, Professor Dodderfield. This book is unbelievably funny, especially thanks to the narrator on the audiobook, who somehow doesn't stumble over the gibberish created when that letter doesn't appear anymore. Or should I say, "-oesn't appear anymore?" Perfect for Middle Grade and up, this was my favorite audiobook of 2020!”

Lark & Owl image Lindsay, Lark & Owl
Audiobook details

Ready Player One

By Ernest Cline
Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
Length: 15 hours 39 minutes

Ready Player One

“When it comes to listening to an audio book, I have to be drawn to the narrator’s voice almost if not more than the actual story. The way a narrator speaks really makes or breaks a story for me. Wil Wheaton made this story for me! He brought new life to a story I was already in love with. Wheaton made Wade Watts come to life, and was able to bring out the obsessiveness in Wade’s voice when it came to Halliday and 80’s pop-culture. Wheaton is the only person that could ever be Wade Watts for me. This is one audio book that I know I will go back to again and again.”

Mysterious Galaxy Books image Victoria, Mysterious Galaxy Books
Audiobook details

Raybearer

The Raybearer Series: Book #1

By Jordan Ifueko
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Length: 13 hours 48 minutes

Raybearer

“Such a cool fantasy novel with an incredible magic system! Perfect for fans of "Children of Blood and Bone." I highly recommend listening to the audiobook to further immerse yourself in this beautiful world that Ifueko has created.”

An Unlikely Story image Coleen, An Unlikely Story
Audiobook details

The Obelisk Gate: Booktrack Edition

The Broken Earth: Book #2

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 13 hours 19 minutes

Essun's missing daughter grows more powerful every day, and her choices may destroy the world in this "magnificent" Hugo Award winner and NYT Notable Book. (NPR)

The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night.

Essun -- once Damaya, once Syenite, now avenger -- has found shelter, but not her daughter. Instead... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Stone Sky

The Broken Earth: Book #3

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 14 hours 16 minutes

Humanity will finally be saved or destroyed in the shattering conclusion to the post-apocalyptic and highly acclaimed NYT bestselling trilogy that won the Hugo Award three years in a row.

The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women.

Essun has inherited the power of... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Fifth Season

The Broken Earth: Book #1

By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 15 hours 27 minutes

The Fifth Season

“The Fifth Season is an amazing, dark, and gripping work that will hook you from the first sentence. I cannot express to you how much this book stunned me. Robin's narration is well paced and engaging. While I wish this was a book for everyone to listen to, it isn't; destruction, trauma, and rage follow the women and girls who tell their stories. This book is about the end of the world, that you actually don't want to stop reading.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time
Audiobook details