Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more
Bookseller

Annie's Favorite Audiobooks of 2020

Annie Philbrick is the owner and adult book buyer for Bank Square Books and Savoy Bookshop & Café. These are her favorite audiobooks from 2020!

Playlist Tags: Savoy Bookshop genre: Non-Classifiable booksellerfavorites season: holidays topic best of 2020

View all playlists

Vesper Flights

By Helen Macdonald
Narrated by: Helen Macdonald
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

Vesper Flights

“I wish I could give Vesper Flights twelve stars out of five. In this beautiful, loving, poignant portrait of a nature lover’s world — gosh, what an understatement — Helen MacDonald continues to prove herself a nature-writing powerhouse. Her literary skills make her a modern legend, and Vesper Flights is sure to touch as many hearts, if not more, than H Is for Hawk did.”

Bookie's image Nikki F, Bookie's
Audiobook details

Behind the Red Door

A Novel

By Megan Collins & Alexandra Allwine
Narrated by: Alex Allwine & Patricia Santomasso
Length: 10 hours 9 minutes

A haunting thriller” (PopSugar) about a woman who believes that she has a connection to a decades old kidnapping and begins a frantic investigation to find out what really happened when the victim goes missing again.

When Fern Douglas sees the news about Astrid Sullivan, a thirty-four-year-old missing woman from Maine, she is positive that she... Read more »

Audiobook details

Squeeze Me

A novel

By Carl Hiaasen
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 11 hours 9 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A hilarious novel of social and political intrigue, set against the glittering backdrop of Florida’s gold coast, from the author of Skinny Dip and Razor Girl

“If you could use some wild escapism right now, Hiaasen is your guy.” —The New York Times
 
WITH A NEW EPILOGUE

At the height of Palm Beach’s charity ball season,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Dirt

Adventures in Lyon as a Chef in Training, Father, and Sleuth Looking for the Secret of French Cooking

By Bill Buford
Narrated by: Bill Buford
Length: 16 hours 51 minutes

“You can almost taste the food in Bill Buford’s Dirt, an engrossing, beautifully written memoir about his life as a cook in France.” —The Wall Street Journal

What does it take to master French cooking? This is the question that drives Bill Buford to abandon his perfectly happy life in New York City and pack up and (with a wife and three-year-old... Read more »

Audiobook details

Notes on a Silencing

A Memoir

By Lacy Crawford
Narrated by: Lacy Crawford
Length: 11 hours 5 minutes

A "powerful and scary and important and true" memoir of a young woman's struggle to regain her sense of self after trauma, and the efforts by a powerful New England boarding school to silence her—at any cost (Sally Mann, author of Hold Still).

When Notes on a Silencing hit bookstores in the summer of 2020, even amidst a global pandemic, it sen Read more »t...
Audiobook details

Hamnet

A novel

By Maggie O'Farrell
Narrated by: Ell Potter
Length: 12 hours 42 minutes

Hamnet

“Fans of A. S. Byatt, Penelope Fitzgerald, or Barbara Gowdy... are probably really tired of retellings of Shakespeare's life. Why read another? Because it so breathtakingly captures emotion. Because the opening sequence is one of the best expositions and descriptions of Shakespeare's Stratford you'll ever hear. Because the reimagining of Shakespeare's wife as a half-wild greenwitch sounds absurd, but in fact is compelling and captivating. Because it is not a charming puzzle box of references to multiple plays: it's the history of Shakespeare's depth of feeling, renewed in a story every strong and imaginative woman will find core-shaking and inspiring.”

The Haunted Bookshop image Nialle, The Haunted Bookshop
Audiobook details

Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more