Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Middle Grade Listening for the Whole Family

If you're looking to listen to a book with the whole family, these are fun listening for everyone, regardless of age.

Playlist Tags: Katy Budget Books genre: Children's audience: middle grade childrens books middle grade fiction middle grade

View all playlists

Shuri: A Black Panther Novel #1

Shuri: Black Panther: Book #1

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Anika Noni Rose
Length: 5 hours 41 minutes

An original, upper-middle-grade series starring the break-out character from the Black Panther comics and films: T'Challa's younger sister, Shuri! Crafted by New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone. Shuri is a skilled martial artist, a genius, and a master of science and technology. But, she's also a teenager. And a princess. This... Read more »
Audiobook details

The School for Good and Evil

School for Good and Evil: Book #1

By Soman Chainani
Narrated by: Polly Lee
Length: 13 hours 45 minutes

Soon to be a major motion picture from Netflix!

The New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Almost Super

Almost Super: Book #1

By Marion Jensen
Narrated by: Mike Chamberlain
Length: 6 hours 3 minutes

Perfect for fans of Pixar's The Incredibles, Almost Super is a fresh, funny middle grade adventure about two brothers in a family of superheroes who must find a way to be heroic despite receiving powers that are total duds. Filled with humor, heart, and just the right kind of heroics, Almost Super is a winning story that will satisfy would-be...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Never Say Die

By Will Hobbs
Narrated by: Nick Cordero
Length: 4 hours 35 minutes

Will Hobbs' adventure novels set in the great outdoors have garnered a slew of awards, including numerous selections as ALA Best Books for Young Adults. In Never Say Die, 15-year-old Inuit hunter Nick Thrasher takes a trip downriver with his half-brother Ryan, who's visiting Canada's Arctic to photograph the caribou migration. But when disaster... Read more »
Audiobook details

Pi in the Sky

By Wendy Mass
Narrated by: Mark Turetsky
Length: 7 hours 2 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Wendy Mass has received an array of awards for her children's fiction, including the ALA Schneider Family Book Award. Pi in the Sky stars Joss, the seventh son of the Supreme Overlord of the Universe, whose job is to deliver magical pies--ones that happen to hold the secrets of the cosmos. But when planet Earth... Read more »
Audiobook details

False Prince, The

Ascendance: Book #1

By Jennifer A. Nielsen
Narrated by: Charlie McWade
Length: 8 hours 14 minutes

In a discontented kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner's motives are... Read more »
Audiobook details

Look Both Ways

A Tale Told in Ten Blocks

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: Heather Alicia Simms, Chris Chalk, Bahni Turpin, Kevin R. Free, JD Jackson, Guy Lockard, January LaVoy, Jason Reynolds, Adenrele Ojo & David Sadzin
Length: 3 hours 58 minutes

Look Both Ways

“Each chapter is a different voice in the audiobook, with the final chapter read by Jason Reynolds himself (which is perfect, because it is the most poetic, as well). I adored this book, and my students are loving it, too! The little clues throughout about the bus, and the way the characters subtly interact without realizing it is masterful. ”

Lark & Owl image Kim, Lark & Owl
Audiobook details

When Stars Are Scattered

By Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed
Narrated by: Faysal Ahmed, Barkhad Abdi, Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Robin Miles, Ifrah Mansour, Bahni Turpin, Hakeemshady Mohamed, Sadeeq Ali, Dominic Hoffman, Christine Avila, JD Jackson & Various
Length: 3 hours 42 minutes

An Odyssey Honor audiobook and National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel—adapted for audio—is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.

Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life... Read more »
Audiobook details

Elizabeth Webster and the Court of Uncommon Pleas

Elizabeth Webster

By William Lashner
Narrated by: Erin Yuen
Length: 7 hours 52 minutes

Elizabeth Webster and the Court of Uncommon Pleas

“I listened to Elizabeth Webster and the Court of Uncommon Pleas as an audiobook. The narrator is awesome! This book is kind of a mix of Goosebumps and Theodore Boone. It’s a middle grade mystery with ghosts and demons. It’s not incredibly scary, but maybe not a good read for nervous children. I really enjoyed it. I did not want to stop listening. There’s an interesting cast of characters, a good mystery, and some real legal information. The main character is also kind of a math nerd, which I would have loved in my own middle grade years. Also, it’s a great read for children in blended families, as it deals with some of that without being preachy.”

Katy Budget Books image Anna, Katy Budget Books
Audiobook details

After Zero

By Christina Collins
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 5 hours 8 minutes

Elise carries a notebook full of tallies, each page marking a day spent at her new public school, each stroke of her pencil marking a word spoken. A word that can't be taken back. Five tally marks isn't so bad. Two is pretty good. But zero? Zero is perfect. Zero means no wrong answers called out in class, no secrets accidentally spilled, and no...

Read more »
Audiobook details