Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Delectable December Staff Picks

Dare to dance directly with drama with December’s Staff Picks.

Playlist Tags: Off the Beaten Path staff picks season: winter

View all playlists

The Lying Life of Adults

By Elena Ferrante
Narrated by: Marisa Tomei
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

The Lying Life of Adults

“Ferrante’s latest novel gives an insightful and intriguing look at the life of a budding Italian teenage girl, both internally and externally. I found Ferrante’s ability to delve into Giovanna’s psyche fascinating, especially since I’ve never parented a girl and don’t always feel like I understand them. Her sensitivity to the myriad of issues and the fragility of Giovanna’s relationships make for a marvelous read. Ferrante is a gifted writer, and this latest offering does not disappoint. I loved this story! Fabulous read!”

Page and Palette image Stephanie Crowe, Page and Palette
Audiobook details

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

By Christopher Paolini
Narrated by: Jennifer Hale
Length: 32 hours 29 minutes

"Narrator Jennifer Hale's outstanding performance brings this story of alien invasion to life...Hale's range of differentiation is masterly as she animates all the quirky characters Kira meets. From the rough, snarky slang of ex-military woman to the half-mad musings of a human "ship mind," every unique voice enhances the listening experience."...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Don’t Move

By James S. Murray & Darren Wearmouth
Narrated by: James S. Murray
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

From the authors of the bestselling Awakened trilogy

Megan Forrester has barely survived the unthinkable. Six months ago, she witnessed a horrific accident that killed her husband and son, and lives with the guilt of knowing she could have done more to save them. Now, Megan hopes to mend the pieces of her broken spirit by attending a local church...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Archer

By Paulo Coelho
Narrated by: Vikas Adam
Length: 49 minutes

From the #1 best-selling author of The Alchemist comes an inspiring story about a young man seeking wisdom from an elder, and the practical lessons imparted along the way. Includes stunning illustrations by Christoph Niemann.

“A novelist who writes in a universal language.” —The New York Times


In The Archer we meet Tetsuya, a man once famous for... Read more »
Audiobook details

Before the Coffee Gets Cold

A Novel

By Toshikazu Kawaguchi
Narrated by: Arina Ii
Length: 6 hours 52 minutes

Before the Coffee Gets Cold

“In a Tokyo back alley, in a basement, there is a cafe where you can travel back to the past. There are rules that you need to follow through, and you need to come back to the present before your coffee gets cold. This book seems more like a series of vignettes following people's trips into the past. The question is, what really changes when you go back? Is it you or the future? This is a refreshing take on time travel, reminiscent of magical realism. It is a beautiful book and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants an ethereal read. ”

Off the Beaten Path image Izzy, Off the Beaten Path
Audiobook details

Written in the Stars

A Novel

By Alexandria Bellefleur
Narrated by: Lauren Sweet
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Written in the Stars

“This fake-dating, opposites-attract romance is simply perfect. A social media astrologer is set up with her new business partner’s actuary sister. While the date goes terribly, how helpful it would be for both of them to have a date for certain upcoming events. The two leads are wonderful, flawed women with their own baggage and hang-ups (hello, family drama!), and it’s a joy to watch them fall in love with each other in spite of everything.”

Astoria Bookshop image Lexi Beach, Astoria Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Good Lord Bird

A Novel

By James McBride
Narrated by: Michael Boatman
Length: 14 hours 34 minutes

Soon to be a Showtime limited series starring Ethan Hawke and Daveed Diggs

Winner of the National Book Award for Fiction

From the bestselling author of Deacon King Kong (an Oprah Book Club pick) and The Color of Water comes the story of a young boy born a slave who joins John Brown’s antislavery crusade—and who must pass as a girl to survive.


... Read more »
Audiobook details

Devolution

A Firsthand Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre

By Max Brooks
Narrated by: Judy Greer, Kai Ryssdal, Max Brooks, Jeff Daniels, Nathan Fillion, Mira Furlan, Terry Gross, Kimberly Guerrero, Kate Mulgrew & Steven Weber
Length: 9 hours 49 minutes

Devolution

“This was a blast to read. Kate and Dan Holland have an opportunity to move into an eco-friendly community called Greenloops in the shadow of Mt. Rainier. Kate’s therapist asks her to keep a journal, and this is how their story is preserved. Because after Mt. Rainier erupts, horrible things happen at Greenloops. Really horrible things…”

Excelsior Bay Books image Ann Nye, Excelsior Bay Books
Audiobook details

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

A Novel

By Neil Gaiman
Narrated by: Neil Gaiman
Length: 5 hours 48 minutes

A brilliantly imaginative and poignant fairy tale from the modern master of wonder and terror, The Ocean at the End of the Lane is Neil Gaiman’s first new novel for adults since his #1 New York Times bestseller Anansi Boys.

This bewitching and harrowing tale of mystery and survival, and memory and magic, makes the impossible all too real...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Joe Biden

By Evan Osnos
Narrated by: Evan Osnos & David Remnick
Length: 4 hours 26 minutes

Joe Biden

“What a wonderful and insightful look into the man who is our next President. Honest and hopeful, this book is a must-listen for anyone wanting to know more about Joe Biden and what brought him to this day.”

Skylark Bookshop image Mary, Skylark Bookshop
Audiobook details

Wintering

The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times

By Katherine May
Narrated by: Rebecca Lee
Length: 6 hours 53 minutes

Wintering

“When Katherine May set out to write her book, Wintering, she could not have foreseen that it would be published in the middle of a pandemic, nor that it would be so beautifully suited to our current circumstances. Wintering is the author's account of how she made it through unforeseen difficult times and depression (emotional winters). Gentle, understanding, hopeful, and empathetic, this is a book you will listen to and then want to buy a copy of, just so you can have it nearby for difficult times.”

Skylark Bookshop image Mary, Skylark Bookshop
Audiobook details

Greenlights

By Matthew McConaughey
Narrated by: Matthew McConaughey
Length: 6 hours 42 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Over one million copies sold! From the Academy Award®–winning actor, an unconventional memoir filled with raucous stories, outlaw wisdom, and lessons learned the hard way about living with greater satisfaction
 
“Unflinchingly honest and remarkably candid, Matthew McConaughey’s book invites us to grapple with the... Read more »
Audiobook details

Inheritance Games

By Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Length: 10 hours 44 minutes

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when... Read more »
Audiobook details

City Spies

City Spies: Book #1

By James Ponti
Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 6 hours 50 minutes

A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
“Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight.” —People
“Will keep young readers glued to the page…So when do I get the sequel?” —Beth McMullen, author of Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called “a must-read,” Edgar Award... Read more »
Audiobook details

Redwall

By Brian Jacques
Narrated by: Brian Jacques & Full Cast
Length: 10 hours 40 minutes

When Redwall was published in 1987 it catapulted author Brian Jacques to international stardom. And small wonder! This enthralling tale is jam-packed with the things we long for in a great adventure: danger, laughter, hairbreadth escapes, tragedy, mystery, a touch of wonder, a truly despicable villain, and a hero we can take to heart.

That hero... Read more »
Audiobook details

Wings of Fire: The Winglets Quartet

Wings of Fire: Winglets: Book #1

By Tui T. Sutherland
Narrated by: Shannon McManus
Length: 4 hours 30 minutes

Everyone knows the legends . . . but does anyone know the truth? Fiercetooth, a NightWing obsessed with what could have -- and should have -- been. Deathbringer, desperate to prove himself as the next great NightWing assassin. Six-Claws, a loyal SandWing, who will soon find that loyalty comes with a price. Foeslayer the NightWing, a dragon in... Read more »
Audiobook details

Off the Beaten Path

Off the Beaten Path is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.