Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Hair Love

By Matthew A. Cherry
Narrated by: Blue Ivy Carter
Length: 4 minutes

Zuri’s hair has a mind of its own. It kinks, coils, and curls every which way. Zuri knows it’s beautiful. When Daddy steps in to style it for an extra special occasion, he has a lot to learn. But he LOVES his Zuri, and he’ll do anything to make her—and her hair—happy. Tender and empowering, Hair Love is an ode to loving your natural hair—and a... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Promised Land

By Barack Obama
Narrated by: Barack Obama
Length: 29 hours 9 minutes

A riveting, deeply personal account of history in the making—from the president who inspired us to believe in the power of democracy

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • Jennifer Szalai, The New York Times • NPR •...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Jingle Jangle: The Invention of Jeronicus Jangle

(Movie Tie-In)

By David E. Talbert & Lyn Sisson-Talbert
Narrated by: Phylicia Rashad & Lyn Sisson-Talbert
Length: 3 hours 31 minutes

A joyful middle grade novel based on the Netflix holiday film Jingle Jangle: A Chistmas Journey, starring Phylicia Rashad, Forrest Whitaker, Anika Noni Rose, Keegan Michael Key, and newcomer Madalen Mills, about an eccentric toymaker, his adventurous granddaughter, and a magical invention, that if they can get it to work in time for the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“Getting to listen to the author herself read her poetry, which are clearly a testament to the spoken word and the art of slam, is absolutely the best way to devour this novel-in-verse. Acevedo puts everything into her words, and no one else could do them justice the way she does herself. Despite possible age/cultural/religious differences, any listener will immediately relate to this teenage girl desperately trying to both find herself and her voice, and live up to her family's expectations.”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details

Antiracist Baby

By Ibram X. Kendi
Narrated by: Shayna Small & Guy Lockard
Length: 4 minutes

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a fresh new audiobook that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves, now with added discussion prompts to help listeners recognize and reflect on bias in their daily lives.

Featured on Good Morning... Read more »

Audiobook details

White Fragility

Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism

By Robin DiAngelo & Michael Eric Dyson
Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.

In this “vital, necessary, and beautiful book” (Michael Eric Dyson), antiracist educator Robin DiAngelo deftly illuminates the phenomenon of white... Read more »

Audiobook details

This Is My America

By Kim Johnson
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 9 hours 34 minutes

This Is My America

“Strong and compelling storytelling, in addition to insightful perspective of racial injustice, bias, and the complexity of adolescence. Both the plot and the characters were engaging and complex on multiple levels, which kept me wishing I could listen faster to know what happens next.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Tina, Leaves Book and Tea Shop
Audiobook details

Me and White Supremacy

Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor

By Layla F. Saad
Narrated by: Layla F. Saad
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

Me and White Supremacy

“Want to learn how to be a good ancestor? Need to address your privilege and feel uncomfortable about talking about racism? You need to read and work through Me and White Supremacy.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

When you shop at your local bookstore, you are directly supporting and enriching your own community with your purchases—and your tax dollars.

Join the movement and #ShopLocalBookstores.

Learn more

Beautiful Blackbird

By Ashley Bryan
Narrated by: Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 8 minutes

Coretta Scott King Award winner Ashley Bryan adapted this charming tale from a story told by the Ilaspeaking people of Zambia. All the birds in the forest are jealous of Blackbird, whose black feathers glisten and shine colorfully in the sunbeams. The other birds are a single color from head to foot, and none of them have even a spot of black on... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ghost Boys

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by: Miles Harvey
Length: 2 hours 51 minutes

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.

Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better.

Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat. As a ghost, he... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hood Feminism

Notes from the Women that a Movement Forgot

By Mikki Kendall
Narrated by: Mikki Kendall
Length: 6 hours 57 minutes

Hood Feminism

“Powerful. Important. Compulsively readable. Kendall’s narrative style is top notch - riveting and un-put-down-able. Not only is this a must read, it's a must pay attention. It's a must revisit and keep learning kind of book. Kendall dives deep and doesn't pull punches, but she doesn't seek to shame either. This is necessary reading for anyone who considers themselves a feminist. Because solidarity needs to be for ALL.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

The Water Dancer (Oprah's Book Club)

A Novel

By Ta-Nehisi Coates
Narrated by: Joe Morton
Length: 14 hours 14 minutes

The Water Dancer (Oprah's Book Club)

“Ta-Nehisi Coates understands something big and he understands it better than anyone else right now. The Water Dancer led me on a journey up and down the landscape of American slavery with a narrative that feels like The Book of Exodus meets, well, Ta-Nehisi Coates. Over 400 pages I have cried, I have laughed, I have been educated, and I have been enlightened. Coates writes with an honesty that can only come from a sublime, even spiritual, understanding of the souls of the white man and the black man in America. Written with poignancy and humanity, The Water Dancer left me stunned but clear-headed, like I had just been woken up from a deep, dream-filled sleep.”

Norris Rettiger image Norris Rettiger, Lemuria Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Warmth of Other Suns

The Epic Story of America's Great Migration

By Isabel Wilkerson
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 22 hours 40 minutes

The Warmth of Other Suns

“I'm sorry I hadn't gotten to this sooner. Wilkerson pulls together so much of what I already knew about the US but not necessarily why... a great audiobook, too.”

Flyleaf Books image Jamie, Flyleaf Books
Audiobook details

With the Fire on High

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 7 hours 26 minutes

With the Fire on High

“This was a great listen. Emoni, a single teen mom, has so much on her plate and has maturity beyond her years. She’s realistic and responsible and navigates high school, parenting, college decisions and a budding love interest. She’s becoming a talented chef and her feelings are expressed in her food. The author narrates and she had me hooked from the first sentence.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Audiobook details

Luster

A Novel

By Raven Leilani
Narrated by: Ariel Blake
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

If you enjoyed Such a Fun Age, then you’ll love Luster.

“An incredibly unique story, Luster inserts the reader into the head of the novel's protagonist, a young Black woman having an affair with an older white man in an open marriage. Things get complicated when she sneaks into her lover's house and is caught by the wife who then invites her to stay for their anniversary party. Luster is a brilliant mash-up (kind of) of Such a Fun Age and The Roxy Letters, but with added layers. Raven Leilani's writing is going to stick with me for a long time!”

Skylark Bookshop image Mary, Skylark Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Dead are Arising

The Life of Malcolm X

By Les Payne & Tamara Payne
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 18 hours 6 minutes

Les Payne, the renowned Pulitzer Prizewinning investigative journalist, embarked in 1990 on a nearly thirty-year-long quest to interview anyone he could find who had actually known Malcolm Xall living siblings of the Malcolm Little family, classmates, street friends, cellmates, Nation of Islam figures, FBI moles and cops, and political leaders... Read more »

Audiobook details

Charming as a Verb

By Ben Philippe
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. 

Henri “Halti” Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Deacon King Kong

A Novel

By James McBride
Narrated by: Dominic Hoffman
Length: 14 hours 5 minutes

Deacon King Kong

“ James McBride has written a masterpiece with Deacon King Kong. The writing is a tapestry of story lines woven together with the skill of a master craftsman. The narrating is in a class by itself. This is absolutely the perfect book to lose yourself in. Straight up 10!”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

Blended

By Sharon M. Draper
Narrated by: Sharon M. Draper
Length: 5 hours 41 minutes

Blended

“Not only is the book itself amazing, but the narration by the author Sharon M. Draper is beyond stellar. The story deals with tough issues surrounding both family and social strife. The author superbly writes about these issues with wit and wisdom, and with candor and honesty. Aside from the "written" brilliance of Blended, the author delivers this story with so much energy that captures the humor and tenderness of this story. We cannot say enough about this wonderful audiobook and wholeheartedly recommend Blended.”

Owl Books image Triera, Owl Books
Audiobook details

Across That Bridge

A Vision for Change and the Future of America

By John Lewis
Narrated by: Keith David
Length: 5 hours 27 minutes

Across That Bridge

“John Lewis narrating his insightful words pulls the reader into his experiences as a civil rights icon. Across that Bridge was an incredibly compelling and encouraging narrative of why the civil rights protests worked and how we can apply the same principles to today's continuing fight for equal rights and justice. I highly, highly recommend this book for readers of all ages.”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

Loving Me Books

Loving Me Books is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.