Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

You Are Your Best Thing

Vulnerability, Shame Resilience, and the Black Experience

By author
Narrated by: Tarana Burke, Brené Brown, the Contributors, Mirron Willis, Bahni Turpin, JD Jackson & L Morgan Lee
Length: 6 hours 36 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Tarana Burke and Dr. Brené Brown bring together a dynamic group of Black writers, organizers, artists, academics, and cultural figures to discuss the topics the two have dedicated their lives to understanding and teaching: vulnerability and shame resilience.

Contributions by Kiese Laymon, Imani Perry, Laverne Cox,... Read more »
Audiobook details

On Juneteenth

By Annette Gordon-Reed
Narrated by: Karen Chilton
Length: 3 hours 44 minutes

Weaving together American history, dramatic family chronicle, and searing episodes of memoir, Annette Gordon-Reed’s On Juneteenth provides a historian’s view of the nation’s long road to Juneteenth, recounting both its origins in Texas and the enormous hardships that African-Americans have endured in the century since, from Reconstructio Read more »n...
Audiobook details

Life After Death

A Novel

By Sister Souljah
Narrated by: Nia Long
Length: 16 hours 1 minutes

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
Instant USA TODAY Bestseller

The long-anticipated sequel to Sister Souljah’s million copy New York Times bestseller The Coldest Winter Ever.

Winter Santiaga hit time served. Still stunning, still pretty, still bold, still loves her father more than any man in the world, still got her hustle and high fashio Read more »n...
Audiobook details

These Ghosts are Family

A Novel

By Maisy Card
Narrated by: Karl O’Brian Williams
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

PEN/Hemingway Award For Debut Novel Finalist​
Shortlisted for the 2020 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize

A “rich, ambitious debut novel” (The New York Times Book Review) that reveals the ways in which a Jamaican family forms and fractures over generations, in the tradition of Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

Stanford Solomon’s shocking Read more »,...
Audiobook details

Leaving Lymon

By Lesa Cline-Ransome
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 4 hours 19 minutes

It's 1946, and Lymon, uprooted from his life in the Deep South and moved up North, needs that chance. Lymon's father is, for the time being, at Parchman Farm—the Mississippi State Penitentiary--and his mother, whom he doesn't remember all that much, has moved North. Fortunately, Lymon is being raised by his loving grandparents. Together, Lymon... Read more »

Audiobook details

So You Want to Talk about Race

By Ijeoma Oluo
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 41 minutes

A current, constructive, and actionable exploration of today’s racial landscape, offering straightforward clarity that readers of all races need to contribute to the dismantling of the racial divide

In So You Want to Talk about Race, editor-at-large of the Establishment Ijeoma Oluo offers a contemporary, accessible take on the racial landscape in... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Butterfly Effect

How Kendrick Lamar Ignited the Soul of Black America

By Marcus J. Moore
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo
Length: 9 hours 9 minutes

This first cultural biography of rap superstar and “master of storytelling” (The New Yorker) Kendrick Lamar explores his meteoric rise to fame and his profound impact on a racially fraught America—perfect for fans of Zack O’Malley Greenburg’s Empire State of Mind.

Kendrick Lamar is at the top of his game.

The thirteen-time Grammy Award­–winnin Read more »g...
Audiobook details

The Truths We Hold

An American Journey

By Kamala Harris
Narrated by: Kamala Harris
Length: 9 hours 25 minutes

A New York Times bestseller

From Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris, one of America's most inspiring political leaders, a book about the core truths that unite us, and the long struggle to discern what those truths are and how best to act upon them, in her own life and across the life of our country


Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris's commitmen Read more »t...
Audiobook details

Root Magic

By Eden Royce
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

“A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything I want in a book!”—Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation

Debut author... Read more »

Audiobook details

Aftershocks

By Nadia Owusu
Narrated by: Nadia Owusu
Length: 8 hours 32 minutes

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, this “gorgeous” (The New York Times, Editors’ Choice) and deeply felt memoir from Whiting Award winner Nadia Owusu tells the “incredible story” (Malala Yousafzai) about the push and pull of belonging, the seismic emotional toll of family secrets, and the heart it takes to pull through.

“In Aftershocks, Nadia... Read more »
Audiobook details

Concrete Rose

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that... Read more »

Audiobook details

Winterkeep

Graceling Realm

By Kristin Cashore
Narrated by: Xanthe Elbrick
Length: 16 hours 30 minutes

The highly anticipated next book in the New York Times bestselling, award-winning Graceling Realm series, which has sold 1.3 million copies.

For the past five years, Bitterblue has reigned as Queen of Monsea, heroically rebuilding her nation after her father's horrific rule. After learning about the land of Torla in the east, she sends envoys t Read more »o...
Audiobook details

Your Corner Dark

By Desmond Hall
Narrated by: Karl O'Brian Williams
Length: 10 hours 12 minutes

“One of those tales that ties you up, turns you inside-out, wrings you like a wet cloth.” —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

American Street meets Long Way Down in this searing and gritty debut novel that takes an unflinching look at the harsh realities of gang life in Jamaica and how far a teen is willing to go... Read more »
Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Amari and the Night Brothers

Amari and the Night Brothers is a contemporary children's Sci-Fi/Fantasy in the vein of Men in Black and Supernatural. Monsters, magic, and supernatural beings living amongst us, but not everyone can see them (or even knows that they are there). Amari (and her missing older brother Quinton) can and have to balance living in the modern world and the one full of supernatural beings (and unsavory events). Fast paced, relatable, and a fun listen!”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

Self Made

Inspired by the Life of Madam C.J. Walker

By A'Lelia Bundles
Narrated by: A'Lelia Bundles
Length: 16 hours 23 minutes

Now a Netflix series starring Octavia Spencer, Self Made (formerly titled On Her Own Ground) is the first full-scale biography of “one of the great success stories of American history” (The Philadelphia Inquirer), Madam C.J. Walker—the legendary African American entrepreneur and philanthropist—by her great-great-granddaughter, A’Lelia... Read more »
Audiobook details

Ambitious Girl

By Meena Harris
Narrated by: Meena Harris
Length: 8 minutes

Anyone who's ever been underestimated or overshadowed will find inspiration in this empowering new book from Meena Harris, New York Times-bestselling author of Kamala and Maya's Big Idea, which is based on a true story about her aunt, Vice President-elect Kamala Harris, and her mother, Maya Harris.  When a young girl sees a strong woman on T Read more »V...
Audiobook details

Princess Hair

By Sharee Miller
Narrated by: LaQuita James
Length: 3 minutes

Princesses with curls wear pearls. Princesses with head wraps take long naps. And princesses with teeny-weeny Afros wear teeny-weeny bows.

Celebrate different hair shapes, textures, and styles in this self-affirming picture book! From dreadlocks to blowouts to braids, Princess Hair shines a spotlight on the beauty and diversity of black hair Read more »,...
Audiobook details

Ida B. the Queen

By Michelle Duster
Narrated by: Michelle Duster
Length: 3 hours 43 minutes

Journalist. Suffragist. Antilynching crusader. In 1862, Ida B. Wells was born enslaved in Holly Springs, Mississippi. In 2020, she won a Pulitzer Prize.

Ida B. Wells committed herself to the needs of those who did not have power. In the eyes of the FBI, this made her a “dangerous negro agitator.” In the annals of history, it makes her an icon.

Read more »>...
Audiobook details

Wings of Ebony

Wings of Ebony

By J. Elle
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 46 minutes

Instant New York Times bestseller!
“A remarkable, breathtaking, earthshaking, poetic thrillride.” —Daniel JoOlder, New York Times bestselling author of Shadowshaper

In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry and must save both the human and god... Read more »
Audiobook details

Just as I Am

A Memoir

By Cicely Tyson
Narrated by: Cicely Tyson, Viola Davis & Robin Miles
Length: 16 hours 8 minutes

“In her long and extraordinary career, Cicely Tyson has not only exceeded as an actor, she has shaped the course of history.” –President Barack Obama, 2016 Presidential Medal of Honor ceremony

"Just As I Am is my truth. It is me, plain and unvarnished, with the glitter and garland set aside. Here, I am indeed Cicely, the actress who has been... Read more »

Audiobook details