Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Staff Picks!

Each month books are added to the list! We hope you enjoy them as much as we did! - The Brewster Bookstore

Playlist Tags: The Brewster Book Store audience: adult topic: bookstores audience: children topic: literature

View all playlists

Leave the World Behind

A Novel

By Rumaan Alam
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 7 hours 26 minutes

Leave the World Behind

“I tore through LEAVE THE WORLD BEHIND, a breath-taking stunner that slyly becomes a heart-thumping thriller. Alam examines race, class, and family relationships subtly and this is where his storytelling shines. 5 of 5 stars!”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

A Most Beautiful Thing

The True Story of America's First All-Black High School Rowing Team

By Arshay Cooper
Narrated by: Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 8 hours 43 minutes

"Narrator Adam Lazarre-White conveys Cooper's youth and aspirations in a rich, steady voice that suggests emotional authenticity and humor." -- AudioFile Magazine

Now a documentary narrated by Common, produced by Grant Hill, Dwyane Wade, and 9th Wonder, from filmmaker Mary Mazzio

The moving true story of a group of young men growing up on...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Becoming Muhammad Ali

Becoming Ali: Book #1

By James Patterson & Kwame Alexander
Narrated by: Kwame Alexander
Length: 2 hours 34 minutes

From two heavy-hitters in children's literature comes a critically acclaimed biographical novel of cultural icon Muhammad Ali.
*"This utterly delightful story about Ali's childhood is a smash hit." --School Library Journal (starred review)
Five starred reviews!
Before he was a household name, Cassius Clay was a kid with struggles... Read more »

Audiobook details

Before the Ever After

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Guy Lockard
Length: 2 hours 14 minutes

Before the Ever After

“Powerful story written in verse form which explores the damaging effect of football-related brain injuries on not only the players, but their families and communities. Paints an honest and difficult picture of grappling with loss and change, while also providing hope and a model of resiliency.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Tina, Leaves Book and Tea Shop
Audiobook details

Her Last Flight

A Novel

By Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig & Karen White
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 13 hours 16 minutes

The beloved author returns with a remarkable novel of both raw suspense and lyric beauty— the story of a lost pilot and a wartime photographer that will leave its mark on your soul. 

In 1947, photographer and war correspondent Janey Everett arrives at a remote surfing village on the Hawaiian island of Kauai to research a planned biography of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Evvie Drake Starts Over

A Novel

By Linda Holmes
Narrated by: Julia Whelan & Linda Holmes
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

Evvie Drake Starts Over

“Evvie Drake is young and newly widowed, but no one knows that on the day her husband died, she had finally worked up the nerve to leave him. Dean Tenney is a major league baseball pitcher who has inexplicably lost the talent that made him a star. When Dean moves to Evvie’s small town to escape the humiliating sports headlines, their friendship proves to be just what both of them need. This is an absolute treasure of a novel — big-hearted, funny, sweet, and utterly satisfying. I cannot wait to sell this charming gem.”

East City Bookshop image Emilie Sommer, East City Bookshop
Audiobook details

Native Son

By Richard Wright
Narrated by: Peter Francis James
Length: 17 hours 45 minutes

Now an HBO Film!

“If one had to identify the single most influential shaping force in modern Black literary history, one would probably have to point to Wright and the publication of Native Son.” – Henry Louis Gates Jr.

Right from the start, Bigger Thomas had been headed for jail. It could have been for assault or petty larceny; by chance, it was... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Booktrack Edition

By Mitch Albom
Narrated by: Mitch Albom
Length: 4 hours 37 minutes

Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a tragic accident kills him, as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakes in the afterlife, where he learns that heaven is not a destination. It's a place where... Read more »

Audiobook details

When you shop at your local bookstore, you are directly supporting and enriching your own community with your purchases—and your tax dollars.

Join the movement and #ShopLocalBookstores.

Learn more

Squeeze Me

A novel

By Carl Hiaasen
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 11 hours 9 minutes

“If you could use some wild escapism right now, Hiaasen is your guy.” —Janet Maslin, The New York Times
 
From the author of Skinny Dip and Razor Girl, a hilarious, New York Times best-selling novel of social and political intrigues, set against the glittering backdrop of Florida’s gold coast.

It's the height of the Palm Beach charity ball season:... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hamnet

A novel

By Maggie O'Farrell
Narrated by: Ell Potter
Length: 12 hours 42 minutes

If you enjoyed Pope Joan, then you’ll love Hamnet.

“A wonderful imaginative tale of the family of one of England’s most famous writers – who is never named, but of course you know immediately who it is. O’Farrell has a beautiful style of language, with astute observations and lovely vivid descriptions and Daisy Donovan is the perfect narrator. At the core it is a story of shared grief and how each family member deals with loss but it is so much more – it captures Elizabethan times, all the sights, smells and nuances and the characters, especially Agnes and the twins are wonderful. Good if you liked Year of Wonders, Pope Joan or period pieces. Brilliant!”

Bookworm of Edwards image Karin, Bookworm of Edwards
Audiobook details

We Are All the Same in the Dark

A Novel

By Julia Heaberlin
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia, Catherine Taber, MacLeod Andrews & Kirby Heyborne
Length: 10 hours 34 minutes

PEOPLE PICK • The discovery of a girl abandoned by the side of the road threatens to unearth the long-buried secrets of a Texas town’s legendary cold case in this superb, atmospheric novel from the internationally bestselling author of Black-Eyed Susans.

“If you only read one thriller this year, let it be this one. Psychologically absorbing,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls

A Novel

By Ursula Hegi
Narrated by: Angela Dawe
Length: 7 hours 23 minutes

"Narrator Angela Dawe's varied volume and pace create an atmosphere of deep emotions that draw the listener in close...fully realized characters who have relatable issues and emotions take the forefront." -- AudioFile Magazine

From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Nothing to See Here

By Kevin Wilson
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 6 hours 40 minutes

Nothing to See Here

“When a politician’s young wife hires her old school friend as a nanny for her two stepchildren, the main duty will be to keep the twins out of sight and out of trouble. That’s because the kids’ father is a senator and under serious consideration to be the next Secretary of State. But what if the children can’t control themselves? Who is the best person to take care of children who are afflicted with spontaneous combustion? Obviously, a woman with no fear of fire, nothing to lose, and nothing to gain. At turns hilarious and heartbreaking, this unique novel explores family dynamics, resentment, and retribution, leaving the reader with a new perspective on motherhood and what it means to be loyal to those you love.”

Sunrise Books image Laura Simcox, Sunrise Books
Audiobook details

The Vanishing Half

A Novel

By Brit Bennett
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 11 hours 33 minutes

The Vanishing Half

“This is a beautifully written, stunning, and scandalous story about two identical black twin girls, one who runs away from home at age 16. And then their lives completely shift, as one continues living her life as a Black woman, and the other that tries to pass herself off as white. This novel came at just the right time, in the middle of the Black Lives Matter protests and racial unrest in the United States. Brit Bennett has done a brilliant job with her novel! It is compelling and the audiobook on Libro.fm is exceptional!”

BookBar image Marilyn, BookBar
Audiobook details

Dear Justyce

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham & Nic Stone
Length: 4 hours 45 minutes

The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.

In the highly anticipated sequel to her New York Times bestseller, Nic Stone delivers an unflinching look into the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Darkest Evening

A Vera Stanhope Novel
Vera Stanhope: Book #9

By Ann Cleeves
Narrated by: Janine Birkett
Length: 11 hours 15 minutes

From Ann CleevesNew York Times bestselling and award-winning author of the Vera and Shetland series, both of which are hit TV showscomes the stunning new Vera Stanhope novel, The Darkest Evening.

"Ann Cleeves is one of my favorite mystery writers."—Louise Penny


"As a huge fan of both the Shetland and Vera series of books, I had high expectations... Read more »

Audiobook details