Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Transitions: Navigating Grief & Loss, Death & Dying

Playlist Tags: Paradise Found

View all playlists

The Wheel of Life - Abridged

A Memoir of Living and Dying

By Elisabeth Kübler-Ross
Narrated by: Ellen Burstyn
Length: 3 hours 16 minutes

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, MD transformed the way the world thinks about death and dying. Beginning with the groundbreaking publication of the classic psychological study On Death and Dying and continuing through her many books and her years working with terminally ill children, AIDS patients, and the elderly, Kübler-Ross brought comfort and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Why Fish Don't Exist

A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life

By Lulu Miller
Narrated by: Lulu Miller
Length: 4 hours 55 minutes

A Best Book of 2020: The Washington Post * NPR * Chicago Tribune * Smithsonian

A “remarkable” (Los Angeles Times), “seductive” (The Wall Street Journal) debut from the new cohost of Radiolab, Why Fish Don’t Exist is a dark and astonishing tale of love, chaos, scientific obsession, and—possibly—even murder.​

“At one point, Miller dives into the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Motherless Daughters

The Legacy of Loss, 20th Anniversary Edition

By Hope Edelman
Narrated by: Coleen Marlo
Length: 13 hours 9 minutes

The classic New York Times bestseller that has helped millions of women cope with and heal from the grief of losing their mothers. Although a mother's mortality is inevitable no book has discussed the profound lasting and far reaching effects of this loss until Motherless Daughters, which became an instant classic. More than twenty years later,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Goodbye, Friend

Healing Wisdom for Anyone Who Has Ever Lost a Pet

By Gary Kowalski
Narrated by: Barry Abrams
Length: 3 hours 18 minutes

From the moment pets come into our lives, we know the day will arrive when we have to say farewell. Still, we are never emotionally prepared for the last adieu. In Goodbye, Friend, Gary Kowalski takes you on a journey of healing, offering warmth and sound advice on how to cope with the death of your pet. Filled with heartwarming stories and... Read more »

Audiobook details

H Is for Hawk

By Helen Macdonald
Narrated by: Helen Macdonald
Length: 11 hours 6 minutes

When Helen Macdonald’sfather died suddenly on a London street, she was devastated. An experiencedfalconer captivated by hawks since childhood, she’d never before been temptedto train one of the most vicious predators: the goshawk. But in her grief, shesaw that the goshawk’s fierce and feral anger mirrored her own. Resolving topurchase and raise... Read more »

Audiobook details

Being Mortal

Medicine and What Matters in the End

By Atul Gawande
Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

#1 New York Times Bestseller

In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending


Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable. But in the inevitable... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Wild Edge of Sorrow

Rituals of Renewal and the Sacred Work of Grief

By Francis Weller & Michael Lerner
Narrated by: Derek Botten
Length: 6 hours 47 minutes

The work of the mature person is to carry grief in one hand and gratitude in the other and be stretched large by them.

Noted psychotherapist Francis Weller provides an essential guide for navigating the deep waters of sorrow and loss in this lyrical yet practical handbook for mastering the art of grieving. Describing how Western patterns of... Read more »

Audiobook details

When Breath Becomes Air

By Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese
Narrated by: Sunil Malhotra & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 5 hours 34 minutes

When Breath Becomes Air

“With a message both mournful and life-affirming, When Breath Becomes Air chronicles a young doctor's journey from literature student to promising neurosurgeon and finally to a patient in his own hospital after being diagnosed with Stage IV lung cancer. Always profound, never sentimental, this important book refuses to take refuge in platitudes, instead facing mortality with honesty and humility. Written in engaging prose and filled with penetrating insights, this story is relevant to everyone and will captivate fans of memoir, literature, philosophy, and popular science alike. Lyrical passages of great beauty and vulnerability are deftly balanced by bright, candid moments of joy and even humor. Come prepared with plenty of tissues; over and over again this exquisite book will break your heart.”

Carmen Tracey image Carmen Tracey, Loganberry Books
Audiobook details

Meditations on Living, Dying and Loss

The Essential Tibetan Book of the Dead

By Graham Coleman
Narrated by: Stephen Hoye
Length: 3 hours 42 minutes

The Tibetan Book of the Dead is the most significant of all Tibetan Buddhist writings in the West and one of the most inspirational and compelling texts in world literature. In Meditations on Living, Dying and Loss, Graham Coleman, the editor of Viking's acclaimed unabridged translation of The Tibetan Book of the Dead, collects the most... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Unspeakable Loss

How Do You Live After a Child Dies?

By Nisha Zenoff
Narrated by: Nisha Zenoff
Length: 6 hours 45 minutes

A guide to hope and healing after the death of a child, from a grief counselor and psychotherapist who has been there.

Nisha Zenoff lost her son in a tragic accident when he was just seventeen years old. Now, with decades of experience as a grief counselor and psychotherapist, she offers support and guidance from her own journey and from others... Read more »

Audiobook details

Notes for the Everlost

A Field Guide to Grief
Shambhala

By Kate Inglis
Narrated by: Kate Inglis
Length: 7 hours 15 minutes

Part memoir, part handbook for the heartbroken, this powerful, unsparing account of losing a premature baby will speak to all who have been bereaved and are grieving, and offers inspiration on moving forward, gently integrating the loss into life.

Inglis's story is a springboard that can help other bereaved parents--and anyone who has experienced... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Invisible String

By Patrice Karst
Narrated by: Patrice Karst
Length: 12 minutes

With half a million copies sold, this accessible, bestselling picture book phenomenon about the unbreakable connections between loved ones has healed a generation of readers--children and adults alike--and has been updated with new illustrations and an afterword from the author. Now available in paperback for the first time!

Parents, educators,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Life After Loss

A Practical Guide to Renewing Your Life After Experiencing Major Loss

By Bob Deits
Narrated by: Steve Blane
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

Loss can be overwhelming, and recovery often seems terribly daunting, if not impossible. But with great compassion. Life after Loss offers a way through it. Drawing on numerous first-hand stories and almost forty years of pastoral counseling to inform his advice, Bob Deits provides helpful exercises for navigating the uncertain terrain of loss... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Will Carry You

The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy

By Angie Smith
Narrated by: Pam Turlow
Length: 5 hours 44 minutes

Angie Smith was eighteen weeks pregnant with her fourth daughter, Audrey Caroline, when doctors discovered conditions leaving Audrey "incompatible with life." Faced with the decision whether to terminate the pregnancy, Angie and her husband chose to carry Audrey for as long as she had life. This began what turned out to be three months of... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Inner Life of Animals: Love, Grief, and Compassion -- Surprising Observations of a Hidden World

By Peter Wohlleben, Translation by Jane Billinghurst & Foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
Narrated by: Mike Grady
Length: 7 hours 23 minutes

"Like The Hidden Life of Trees, Peter Wohlleben's The Inner Life of Animals will rock your world. Surprising, humbling, and filled with delight, this book shows us that animals think, feel and know in much the same way as we do--and that their lives are, to them, as precious as ours are to us."
—Sy Montgomery, author of The Soul of an... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Grief Observed

By C. S. Lewis
Narrated by: Ralph Cosham
Length: 1 hours 51 minutes

Written after his wife’s tragic death as a way of surviving the “mad midnight moments,” A Grief Observed is C. S. Lewis’ honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. This work contains his concise, genuine reflections on that period: “Nothing will shake a man—or at any rate a man like me—out of his... Read more »

Audiobook details

Anxiety: The Missing Stage of Grief

A Revolutionary Approach to Understanding and Healing the Impact of Loss

By Claire Bidwell Smith
Narrated by: Claire Bidwell Smith
Length: 6 hours 40 minutes

A groundbreaking book exploring the little-known yet critical connections between anxiety and grief, with practical strategies for healing, following the renowned KÿRoss stages model

If you're suffering form anxiety but not sure why, or if you're struggling with loss and looking for solace, Anxiety: The Missing Stage of Grief offers help --... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Wilderness of Grief

By Alan D. Wolfelt & Ph.D
Narrated by: Alan D. Wolfelt & Ph.D
Length: TBA

Based on the author’s previous guides to grief therapy, this audiobook takes an inspirational approach to the material, presenting the idea of wilderness as a sustained metaphor for grief—where the death of a loved one is likened to the experience of being wrenched from normal life and dropped down in the middle of nowhere. Feeling lost and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Grief Works

Stories of Life, Death and Surviving

By Julia Samuel
Narrated by: Julia Samuel
Length: 8 hours 40 minutes

A warm, moving and practical guide to grief from a leading bereavement counsellor, Grief Works features deeply affecting case studies of the author's clients, which will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, Stephen Grosz's The Unexamined Life and Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air.

Death is the last taboo in our society, and... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Wasn't Ready to Say Goodbye

Surviving, Coping, and Healing After the Sudden Death of a Loved One

By Pamela D. Blair, Ph.D. & Brook Noel
Narrated by: Ellen Archer
Length: 9 hours 21 minutes

Each year about eight million Americans suffer the death of someone close to them. Now for those who face the challenges of sudden death, there is a hand to hold. Written by two women who have experienced sudden loss, this updated edition of the best selling bereavement classic will touch, comfort, uplift and console. Authors Brook Noel and... Read more »

Audiobook details