Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more
Bookseller

Adult Non-Fiction Picks for Growth & Inspiration

These are non-fiction picks that are all about learning something new, self-improvement, challenging narratives, becoming better versions of ourselves.

Playlist Tags: Humpty Dumpty Books genre: Nonfiction non-fiction topic: self-help topic: business feminist anti-racism growth mindset

View all playlists

Man’s Search for Meaning

An Introduction to Logotherapy

By Viktor E. Frankl
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Length: 4 hours 44 minutes

Man’s Search for Meaning is the chilling yet inspirational story of Viktor Frankl’s struggle to hold on to hope during the unspeakable horrors of his years as a prisoner in Nazi concentration camps. Between 1942 and 1945 Frankl labored in four different camps, including Auschwitz, while his parents, brother, and pregnant wife perished. Based on... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Artist's Way - Abridged

A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity
Artist's Way

By Julia Cameron
Narrated by: Julia Cameron
Length: 3 hours 6 minutes

"Without The Artist's Way, there would have been no Eat, Pray, Love.” —Elizabeth Gilbert

The Artist’s Way is the seminal book on the subject of creativity. An international bestseller, millions of readers have found it to be an invaluable guide to living the artist’s life. Still as vital todayor perhaps even more sothan it was when it was first... Read more »

Audiobook details

My Beloved World

By Sonia Sotomayor
Narrated by: Rita Moreno
Length: 12 hours 26 minutes

The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an instant American icon. Now, with a candor and intimacy never undertaken by a sitting Justice, she recounts her life from a Bronx housing project to the federal bench, a journey that offers an inspiring testament to her own extraordinary... Read more »

Audiobook details

Heart Berries

A Memoir

By Terese Marie Mailhot
Narrated by: Rainy Fields
Length: 3 hours 45 minutes

*Canada Reads 2019 Longlist

*National Bestseller

*New York Times Bestseller

*Finalist for the 2018 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
*Finalist for the 2018 Governor General's Literary Awards
*Longlisted for the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize
*Winner of the Blue Metropolis First Peoples Prize
*Winner of the Spalding Prize for the Promotion of...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Not My Father's Son

A Memoir

By Alan Cumming
Narrated by: Alan Cumming
Length: 6 hours 28 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Equal parts memoir, whodunnit, and manual for living . . . a beautifully written, honest look at the forces of blood and bone that make us who we are, and how we make ourselves.”  --Neil Gaiman

In his unique and engaging voice, the acclaimed actor of stage and screen shares the emotional story of his complicated... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Measure of My Powers

A Memoir of Food, Misery, and Paris

By Jackie Kai Ellis
Narrated by: Jackie Kai Ellis
Length: 4 hours 58 minutes

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER AND SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2019 TASTE CANADA AWARDS AND THE RAKUTEN KOBO EMERGING WRITER PRIZE. For fans of Eat Pray Love, Wild, and H is for Hawk, The Measure of My Powers is the story of one woman's search for self-love, experienced through food and travel.

"With searing vulnerability and unflinching honesty, Jackie Kai...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Feeding the Mind

By Lewis Carroll
Narrated by: Nicola Barber
Length: 13 minutes

A manuscript of a brief lecture Lewis Carroll once gave, 'Feeding the Mind' discusses the importance of not only feeding one's body, but their minds as well. He wittily puts forth connections between the diet of the body and mind, and gives helpful tips on how to best digest knowledge in the brain. Lewis Carroll (1832-1898) was an... Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Be a Leader

An Ancient Guide to Wise Leadership

By Plutarch & Jeffrey Beneker
Narrated by: Matthew Waterson
Length: 2 hours 30 minutes

The ancient biographer and essayist Plutarch thought deeply about the leadership qualities of the eminent Greeks and Romans he profiled in his famous—and massive—Lives, including politicians and generals such as Pericles, Alexander the Great, Julius Caesar, and Mark Antony. Luckily for us, Plutarch distilled what he learned about wise leadership... Read more »

Audiobook details

David and Goliath

Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants

By Malcolm Gladwell
Narrated by: Malcolm Gladwell
Length: 7 hours

Audie Award Winner, Nonfiction, 2014

Explore the power of the underdog in Malcolm Gladwell's dazzling examination of success, motivation, and the role of adversity in shaping our lives, from the bestselling author of The Bomber Mafia.

Three thousand years ago on a battlefield in ancient Palestine, a shepherd boy felled a mighty warrior with... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Color of Law

A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America

By Richard Rothstein
Narrated by: Adam Grupper
Length: 9 hours 32 minutes

In this groundbreaking history of the modern American metropolis, Richard Rothstein, a leading authority on housing policy, explodes the myth that America's cities came to be racially divided through de facto segregation-that is, through individual prejudices, income differences, or the actions of private institutions like banks and real estate... Read more »

Audiobook details

Across That Bridge

A Vision for Change and the Future of America

By John Lewis
Narrated by: Keith David
Length: 5 hours 27 minutes

Across That Bridge

“John Lewis narrating his insightful words pulls the reader into his experiences as a civil rights icon. Across that Bridge was an incredibly compelling and encouraging narrative of why the civil rights protests worked and how we can apply the same principles to today's continuing fight for equal rights and justice. I highly, highly recommend this book for readers of all ages.”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

White Fragility

Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism

By Robin DiAngelo & Michael Eric Dyson
Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.

In this “vital, necessary, and beautiful book” (Michael Eric Dyson), antiracist educator Robin DiAngelo deftly illuminates the phenomenon of white... Read more »

Audiobook details

Braiding Sweetgrass

Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants

By Robin Wall Kimmerer
Narrated by: Robin Wall Kimmerer
Length: 16 hours 44 minutes

As a botanist and professor of plant ecology, Robin Wall Kimmerer has spent a career learning how to ask questions of nature using the tools of science. As a Potawatomi woman, she learned from elders, family, and history that the Potawatomi, as well as a majority of other cultures indigenous to this land, consider plants and animals to be our... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America

By Thomas King
Narrated by: Lorne Cardinal
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

The Inconvenient Indian is at once a “history” and the complete subversion of a history—in short, a critical and personal meditation that the remarkable Thomas King has conducted over the past 50 years about what it means to be “Indian” in North America.





Rich with dark and light, pain and magic, this book distills the insights gleaned from that... Read more »

Audiobook details

Power Systems

Conversations on Global Democratic Uprisings and the New Challenges to U.S. Empire
American Empire Project

By Noam Chomsky & David Barsamian
Narrated by: Noam Chomsky & David Barsamian
Length: 7 hours 8 minutes

A compelling new set of interviews on our changing and turbulent times with Noam Chomsky, one of the world's foremost thinkers

In this new collection of conversations, conducted from 2010 to 2012, Noam Chomsky explores the most immediate and urgent concerns: the future of democracy in the Arab world, the implications of the Fukushima nuclear... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Anti-Chomsky Reader

By Peter Collier & David Horowitz
Narrated by: Kirk Jordan
Length: 7 hours 55 minutes

Noam Chomsky’s defense of Pol Pot and the genocidal Khymer Rouge, as well as his bizarre associations with Holocaust revisionists, may surprise those who think they know what he believes. Other Chomsky views, such as his claim that the United States has taken the place of Nazi Germany on the world stage, will be more familiar. With Chomskyism... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Science of the Sacred

Bridging Global Indigenous Medicine Systems and Modern Scientific Principles

By Nicole Redvers, N.D.
Narrated by: Essie Bartosik
Length: 8 hours 20 minutes

Indigenous naturopathic doctor Nicole Redvers pairs evidence-based research with traditional healing modalities, addressing modern health problems and medical processes

Modern medical science has finally caught up to what traditional healing systems have known for centuries. Many traditional healing techniques and medicines are often assumed to... Read more »

Audiobook details

In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts

Close Encounters with Addiction

By Gabor Maté, MD
Narrated by: Daniel Maté
Length: 16 hours 18 minutes

In this timely and profoundly original new book, bestselling writer and physician Gabor Maté looks at the epidemic of addictions in our society, tells us why we are so prone to them and what is needed to liberate ourselves from their hold on our emotions and behaviours.

For over seven years Gabor Maté has been the staff physician at the Portland... Read more »

Audiobook details

Against Interpretation, and Other Essays

By Susan Sontag
Narrated by: Tavia Gilbert
Length: 12 hours 6 minutes

Against Interpretation was Susan Sontag's first collection of essays and is a modern classic. Originally published in 1966, it has never gone out of print and has influenced generations of readers all over the world. It includes the famous essays "Notes on Camp" and "Against Interpretation," as well as her impassioned discussions of Sartre,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind

By Yuval Noah Harari
Narrated by: Derek Perkins
Length: 15 hours 17 minutes

Sapiens

“I don't own many books. I read books and give them away. However, I will NOT be giving away my copy of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind. It's a keeper! Sapiens was an intense read for me. I found myself taking breaks every dozen pages or so. Not because I was bored - just the opposite. I needed time to let the author's perspective on the history of our species (you, me, us!) sink in. Yuval Noah Harari is irreverent at times and makes mind-blowing assertions in his book. You may not agree with all of his theories, but what he claims will make you see yourself as the animal you are in a refreshing new light. It's even possible that after you read Sapiens your view of the human condition will have shifted dramatically. Superbly translated from the original Hebrew into English by the author himself, Sapiens is accessible to readers of all types of non-fiction and fiction alike.”

The Bookloft image Catherine, The Bookloft
Audiobook details

Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more