Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Price:

$22.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

City of Flickering Light

By Juliette Fay
Narrated by Lisa Flanagan / 11 hours 32 minutes

Juliette Fay-"one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal)-transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen-perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It's July 1921, "flickers" are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth-iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating-and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn't come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her "trademark wit and grace" (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer's Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Author
Narrator Lisa Flanagan
ISBN 9781982674731
Length 11 hours 32 minutes
Language English
Publisher Blackstone Publishing
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #2,531 Overall
Genre Rank #173 in Historical Fiction
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener