Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Utopia of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

By David Graeber
Narrated by Mike Chamberlain / 8 hours

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?

To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice . . . though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.

Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift Audiobook Memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Gift Now
 

Author
Narrator Mike Chamberlain
ISBN 9781977331779
Length 8 hours
Language English
Publisher Tantor Media, Inc.
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #17,099 Overall
Genre Rank #1,293 in Science
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener