Get Your First Month for Free Get Started
Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

Fingerprints of Previous Owners

A Novel

By Rebecca Entel
Narrated by Cherise Boothe, Robin Miles & Ron Butler / 8 hours 53 minutes

This is a soulful and timely novel exploring family histories and community divides, in the vein of Nicole Dennis-Benn's Here Comes the Sun and Monique Roffey's The White Woman on the Green Bicycle.At a Caribbean resort built atop a former slave plantation, Myrna works as a maid by day; by night she trespasses on the resort's overgrown inland property, secretly excavating the plantation ruins that her island community refuses to acknowledge. Rapt by the crumbling walls of the once slave owner's estate, she explores the unspoken history of the plantation-a site where her ancestors once worked the land, but which the resort now uses as a lookout point for tourists.When Myrna discovers a book detailing the experiences of slaves, who still share a last name with the majority of the islanders, her investigation becomes deeply personal, extending to her neighbors and friends, and explaining her mother's self-imposed silence and brother's disappearance. A new generation begins to speak about the past just as racial tensions erupt between the resort and the local island community when an African American tourist at the resort is brutally attacked.Suffused with the sun-drenched beauty of the Caribbean, Fingerprints of Previous Owners is a powerful novel of hope and recovery in the wake of devastating trauma. In her soulful and timely debut, Entel explores what it means to colonize and be colonized, to trespass and be trespassed upon, to be wounded and to heal.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift this Audiobook

Simply email this audiobook to a friend or print a certificate for later. Either way, your gift supports local bookstores and lets you share a story with the touch of a button.

 

Author
Narrator Cherise Boothe, Robin Miles & Ron Butler
ISBN 9781538450734
Length 8 hours 53 minutes
Language English
Publisher Blackstone Audio
Publication Date
Abridged No
Libro.fm Rank #41,182 Overall
Genre Rank #12,210 in Fiction & Literature
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener