Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping
Fingerprints of Previous Owners
Price:

$17.96 USD

Retail price (USD): $19.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Fingerprints of Previous Owners

A Novel

Description

This is a soulful and timely novel exploring family histories and community divides, in the vein of Nicole Dennis-Benn's Here Comes the Sun and Monique Roffey's The White Woman on the Green Bicycle.At a Caribbean resort built atop a former slave plantation, Myrna works as a maid by day; by night she trespasses on the resort's overgrown inland property, secretly excavating the plantation ruins that her island community refuses to acknowledge. Rapt by the crumbling walls of the once slave owner's estate, she explores the unspoken history of the plantation-a site where her ancestors once worked the land, but which the resort now uses as a lookout point for tourists.When Myrna discovers a book detailing the experiences of slaves, who still share a last name with the majority of the islanders, her investigation becomes deeply personal, extending to her neighbors and friends, and explaining her mother's self-imposed silence and brother's disappearance. A new generation begins to speak about the past just as racial tensions erupt between the resort and the local island community when an African American tourist at the resort is brutally attacked.Suffused with the sun-drenched beauty of the Caribbean, Fingerprints of Previous Owners is a powerful novel of hope and recovery in the wake of devastating trauma. In her soulful and timely debut, Entel explores what it means to colonize and be colonized, to trespass and be trespassed upon, to be wounded and to heal.


Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start shopping
Libro.fm App

Notice to our customers about Fingerprints of Previous Owners

Due to publisher restrictions we are unable to offer this audiobook via membership credits. To help combat restrictive licensing for our customers, we've lowered the price of this audiobook as much as we can.


Audiobook details


Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping