Skip navigation
Skip content
Give credit bundles this holiday season and get a free audiobook! Shop now
The Wizard's Dog by Eric Kahn Gale
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The perfect gift:
Audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase. Plus, you’ll get a FREE seasonal audiobook with your credit bundle purchase!

Start gifting

The Wizard's Dog

$25.20 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Graham Halstead
Length 6 hours 8 minutes
Language English
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

“A magical story full of humor and heart.” —Katherine Applegate, Newbery-winning author of The One and Only Ivan
 
For fans of The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom comes an offbeat, comedic spin on the Excalibur legend told from the point of view of a talking dog who wants to be a magician!
 
Meet Nosewise. He’s spunky. He’s curious. And he’s a dog who can’t understand why his pack mates Merlin and Morgana spend all day practicing magic tricks. If it’s a trick they want, he’s the dog to ask! He can already Sit!, Stay!, and Roll Over!
 
But there’s no way Nosewise is Stay!ing when his master and best friend, Merlin, is kidnapped. There’s nothing Nosewise won’t do to get Merlin back, even if it means facing the strange Fae people and their magic-eating worms, or tangling with the mysterious Sword in the Stone. But it may take more than sniffing out a spell to do it!
 
Nosewise’s hilarious escapades and steadfast loyalty get him and his companions through King Arthur’s Dark Ages.

"An entertaining adventure full of humor and magic" –Booklist 

"A delightful magical fantasy, perfect for fans of fairy tales, legends, and dogs.” –School Library Journal

"An ingenious and entirely credible (at least dog lovers will agree with this) twist on the familiar tale.” –Kirkus Reviews

"Nosewise is one of the silliest narrators around." —The Bulletin

Eric Kahn Gale started The Wizard’s Dog as a joke for his fiancée. He would tease that their dog, Bowser, was fascinated by the magic doors in their apartment that let him outside or delivered him food. It was a short leap from a silly impersonation to the spunky voice of Nosewise. Eric is also the author of The Bully Book and The Zoo at the Edge of the World. He lives in Chicago with his fiancée and their nonmagical but entirely lovable dog, Bowser. You can find Eric on Twitter at @erickahngale and on Facebook.

The perfect gift:
Audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase. Plus, you’ll get a FREE seasonal audiobook with your credit bundle purchase!

Start gifting

Reviews

Praise for The Wizard’s Dog:
“An ingenious and entirely credible (at least dog lovers will agree with this) twist on the familiar tale.” –Kirkus 

“An entertaining adventure full of humor and magic.” –Booklist 

“Nosewise is one of the silliest narrators around.” –The Bulletin

“Animal lovers will enjoy the antics of Nosewise…Perfect for fans of fairy tales, legends, and dogs.” –School Library Journal

“The Wizard’s Dog is perfect for fans of Harry Potter.” –Batch of Books

Praise for The Wizard’s Dog Fetches the Grail:
“An engaging continuation of the adventures begun in the first book.” –School Library Journal

“Fans of Merlin and King Arthur will relish this latest addition and crave more adventures from Nosewise and company.” –Booklist 

“Readers won over by Nosewise’s heart and doggy point of view in The Wizard’s Dog will welcome him back.” –Kirkus Expand reviews
Give credit bundles this holiday season and get a free audiobook! Shop now