Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Take This Man
Price:

$17.96 USD

Retail price (USD): $19.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Take This Man

A Memoir

By Brando Skyhorse
Narrated by Bronson Pinchot / 8 hours 49 minutes

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes thisstunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or TheTender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up withfive stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everythingbut the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa wasabandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more excitinglife, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because hestarted out as one. The life of “Brando Skyhorse,” the American Indian son ofan incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, astranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young sonas American Indians in the colorful Mexican American neighborhood of Echo Park,California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and arotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brandobegins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery onlineleads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his“indelible storytelling” (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinaryliterary memoir captures a son’s single-minded search for a father wherever hecan find one and is destined to become a classic.

Gift

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start gifting
 
Notice to our customers about Take This Man

Due to publisher restrictions we are unable to offer this audiobook via membership credits. To help combat restrictive licensing for our customers, we've lowered the price of this audiobook as much as we can.

Author
Narrator Bronson Pinchot
ISBN 9781483010212
Length 8 hours 49 minutes
Language English
Publisher Blackstone Publishing
Publication date
Edition Unabridged
Genres Biography & Memoir & Nonfiction
Libro.fm rank #160,229 Overall
Genre rank #9,318 in Biography & Memoir