Get Your First Month for Free Get Started


Get for Free with Membership

The Wine-Dark Sea

The Aubrey–Maturin Series: Book #16
By Patrick O’Brian
Narrated by Simon Vance / 9 hours 55 minutes

This sixteenth volume in the acclaimed Aubrey-Maturin series, a brilliantly detailed narrative, became Patrick O’Brian’s first bestseller in the United States.

At the outset of this adventure filled with disaster and delight, Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin pursue a heavy American privateer through the Great South Sea. Their ship, the Surprise, is now also a privateer, the better to escape diplomatic complications from Maturin’s mission, which is to ignite the revolutionary tinder of South America. Aubrey will survive a desperate open-boat journey and come face to face with his illegitimate black son; Maturin, caught up in the aftermath of his failed coup, will flee for his life into the high, frozen wastes of the Andes. They will be reunited at last in a breathtaking chase through the stormy seas and icebergs south of Cape Horn—where the hunters suddenly become the hunted.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account

Gift this Audiobook

Simply email this audiobook to a friend or print a certificate for later. Either way, your gift supports local bookstores and lets you share a story with the touch of a button.


Narrator Simon Vance
ISBN 9781481581844
Length 9 hours 55 minutes
Language English
Publisher Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged Rank #106,393 Overall
Genre Rank #3,530 in Historical Fiction

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener