Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping
Island of a Thousand Mirrors
Price:

$15.26 USD

Retail price (USD): $16.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Island of a Thousand Mirrors

Description

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposingsides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War

Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka andturned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells thestory of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could askfor. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings’ lives areshaped by social hierarchies, their parents’ ambitions, teenage love, and,subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace isshattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara’s family escapes to Los Angeles.But Yasodhara’s life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl’s.

Saraswathi is living in the active war zone of Sri Lankaand hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptlystamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled intothe very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid—a conflictthat, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways.

In the tradition of Michael Ondatje’s Anil’s Ghost and Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, Islandof a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage,heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettablyauthentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, itoffers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficultmoment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things tocome.


Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start shopping
Libro.fm App

Notice to our customers about Island of a Thousand Mirrors

Due to publisher restrictions we are unable to offer this audiobook via membership credits. To help combat restrictive licensing for our customers, we've lowered the price of this audiobook as much as we can.


Audiobook details


Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping