Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller Pick
The Wife Upstairs
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for $14.99 with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Wife Upstairs

A Novel

Bookseller Recommendation

The Wife Upstairs

The Wife Upstairs is a thriller that updates Jane Eyre. Jane is a dog walker who catches the eye of Eddie, a wealthy architect. He’s a recent widow and ready to find love again. Jane wants to believe that Eddie has fallen for her but she’s too smart to not notice the inconsistencies in his story about his late wife and the stories that the women in the neighborhood have about the couple. Jane doesn’t mean to go snooping but it’s lucky that she has since she could have suffered the same fate as Eddie’s first wife. The audiobook is narrated by Emily Shaffer, Kirby Heyborne & Lauren Fortgang; they kept the book moving until that final explosive confrontation.”

Jackson Heights Books image Caren, Jackson Heights Books

Description

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW


One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! Mystery and Suspense

January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

“A compulsively readable tale that flips Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre on its head…a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” -- EW


Audiobook gift memberships

Gift audiobooks to anyone in the world (including yourself!) from the comfort of your home. You choose the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and Twice Told Tales is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting
Libro.fm App with bow

Audiobook details


Twice Told Tales

Twice Told Tales is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.