Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at Hudson Booksellers and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Bookseller Pick
Migrations
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Migrations

A Novel

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.


Bookseller Recommendation

Migrations

“Set in a world that is possibly our near future, where animals, birds and fish have been driven to extinction by global warming and human consumption, Franny Stone is desperate to follow the last migration of Arctic terns as they head south from Greenland. She persuades the captain of a small fishing boat to take her on as a crew member, convincing him that the terns will lead them to the elusive fish he’s hunting. She must reject her own morals about fishing to follow the terns. And along the way, her past is uncovered and the crew put to risk; they themselves become the hunted. There is something haunting in this story, something unforgettable. This comes from the beauty of the language in opposition to the stark realities of a world where so much of what we love is simply gone. Franny speaks for many of us. What might we do to escape our past? And, more importantly, can we find a way to keep love alive in the face of tragedy?”

Loganberry Books image Sarah, Loganberry Books

Description

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world’s last flock of Arctic terns and follow them on their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds she is tracking will lead them to fish.

As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny’s new shipmates begin to realize that she is full of dark secrets: night terrors, an unsent pile of letters, and an obsession with pursuing the terns at any cost. When the story of her past begins to unspool, Ennis and his crew must ask themselves what Franny is really running toward—and running from.

Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Charlotte McConaghy's Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking story about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and Hudson Booksellers is supported by your purchase.

Start shopping
Libro.fm App

Videos


About the author


Charlotte McConaghy is an author and screenwriter based in Sydney, Australia. Migrations is her U.S. debut.


Reviews

“Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer. ”

Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

“Transfixing, gorgeously precise…[The] evocation of a world bereft of wildlife is piercing; Franny’s otherworldliness is captivating; and her misadventures and anguished secrets are gripping.”

Booklist starred review

Audiobook details


Spend $15 or more at Hudson Booksellers and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Hudson Booksellers

Hudson Booksellers is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.