Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey
Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey

By Abigail Wilson
Narrated by Laura Kirman / 9 hours 33 minutes

In this new Regency romance, a young unwed mother must protect her heart from the charms of her convenient new husband, Lord Torrington. She is not, however, prepared to protect her life.

When the widowed Lord Torrington agreed to spy for the crown, he never planned to impersonate a highwayman, let alone rob the wrong carriage. Stranded on the road with an unconscious young woman, he is forced to propose marriage to protect his identity and her reputation, as well as his dangerous mission.

Trapped not only by her duty to her country but also by her limited options as an unwed mother, Miss Elizabeth Cantrell and her infant son are whisked away to Middlecrest Abbey by none other than the elder brother of her son’s absent father. There she is met by Torrington’s beautiful grown daughters, a vicious murder, and an urgent hunt for the missing intelligence that could turn the war with France. Meanwhile she must convince everyone that her marriage is a genuine love match if her new husband has any hope of uncovering the enemy.

Determined to keep her son’s true identity a secret, Elizabeth will need to remain one step ahead of her fragile heart, her uncertain future, and the relentless fiend bent on her new family’s ruin.

Early Praise for Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey:

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse—and best—sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” —Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award–winning novel, The House on Foster Hill

“From the very first page, I was enraptured! Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey has intrigue, mystery, and suspense beautifully enhanced by the vulnerability revealed through memorable characters making this story impossible to put down. A must-read recommendation, this story is exactly what makes me love reading!” —Natalie Walters, author of the Harbored Secrets series

“Suspicion shades the affluent grounds of Middlecrest Abbey in this riveting novel by Abigail Wilson. The artful balance of mystery and romance cleverly blends with the Gothic tones of Regency England. With exquisite prose and a layered plot, Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey is a compelling story not to be missed.” —Rachel Scott McDaniel, award-winning author of Above the Fold

  • Full-length Regency romance mystery (c. 90,000 words)
  • Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig
  • Also by Abigail Wilson:
    • In the Shadow of Croft Towers
    • Midnight on the River Grey
    • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Gift

Gift audiobook memberships

You pick the duration—1, 3, 6, or 12 months—they pick the audiobooks. Buying gifts from your local bookstore has never been so easy.

Start gifting
 
Author
Narrator Laura Kirman
ISBN 9780785233015
Length 9 hours 33 minutes
Language English
Publisher Thomas Nelson
Publication date
Edition Unabridged
Genres Fiction & Literature, Mystery & Thriller, Romance & Historical Fiction
Libro.fm rank #97,864 Overall
Genre rank #3,072 in Historical Fiction