Skip content
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more
Shoot the Moon by Isa Arsén
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Shoot the Moon

$20.00

Get for $14.99 with membership
Narrator Kristen Sieh

This audiobook uses AI narration.

We’re taking steps to make sure AI narration is transparent.

Learn more
Length 8 hours 57 minutes
Language English
  Send as gift   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Summary

How far would you travel for love?

Intelligent but isolated recent physics graduate Annie Fisk feels an undeniable pull toward space. Her childhood memories dimmed by loss, she has left behind her home, her family, and her first love in pursuit of intellectual fulfillment. When she finally lands a job as a NASA secretary during the Apollo 11 mission, the work is everything she dreamed, and while she feels a budding attraction to one of the engineers, she can’t get distracted. Not now.

When her inability to ignore mistaken calculations propels her into a new position, Annie finds herself torn between her ambition, her heart, and a mysterious discovery that upends everything she knows to be scientifically true. Can she overcome her doubts and reach beyond the limits of time and space?

Affecting, immersive, and kaleidoscopic, Shoot the Moon tells the story of one singular life at multiple points in time, one woman's quest to honor both her head and her heart amid the human toll of scientific progress.

Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today
Libro.fm app with gift bow

Gift audiobook credit bundles

You pick the number of credits, your recipient picks the audiobooks, and your local bookstore is supported by your purchase.

Start gifting

Reviews

One of BookBub’s Best Books for Fall
One of Shondaland’s Best Books for October 2023

One of Zibby Magazine’s Most Anticipated Books

"Covering love and loss in all forms, Shoot the Moon moves seamlessly through time while navigating mid-century memories of Albuquerque and Santa Fe. This compelling read will leave you starry-eyed and hungry for answers." —New Mexico Magazine

"Shoot the Moon is a thoughtful, playful novel that ultimately uses the vastness of space to evoke that of each complex and multifaceted human life." —Alta

"Heartbreaking . . . Arsén asks big questions about love and duty, the human cost of scientific inquiry, and the difficulty of moving on from past trauma--but she also tells a cinematic story of fierce dedication and blazing love." —Shelf Awareness

“A dazzling debut . . . [Shoot the Moon] showcases Arsén’s creativity as a writer of original prose, of realistic, vulnerable characters, of palpable sentiments of love and loss." —Albuquerque Journal

"A bold and unconventional love story. Arsén writes with real heart and certainly demonstrates talent as a storyteller. . . . Readers should look forward to what she creates next.” —Associated Press

"In florid language pulsating with vivid descriptors, Arsén weaves complex science and physics into a riveting tale of human emotion." —San Antonio Report

"A gem . . . Filled with all the thrills of space, a love interest, and more, this book will certainly grab your attention.” —Shondaland

"[A] brilliant debut." —BookBub

"If you're looking for a book club pick, this is it. Isa Arsén's debut . . . is drawing comparisons to Lessons in Chemistry and The Time Traveler’s Wife." —Country Living

"Moving . . . As [Annie] attempts to shatter the glass ceiling at NASA, an anomaly at the space center pushes Annie to rethink her past. . . . The strange discovery provides a surprising and dramatic twist that connects the multiple time lines and provides much food for thought.”  —Booklist

"Innovative . . . Arsén expertly navigates the back-and-forth of the story’s time-travel events, threading them into the highlights of women’s scientific achievements. Readers who relish strong female leads will be riveted." —Publishers Weekly

"Explorations of love, loss, science, and the edges of the universe and what is—and is not—possible in the space-time continuum collide in this story; it's reminiscent of the thoughtfulness, matter-of-fact science, and female strength of Connie Willis’ well-known time traveling series beginning with Doomsday Book (1992) as well as the world portrayed in Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures (2016). A delightful and surprising story of a woman drawn through life by curiosity." —Kirkus Reviews

"A romantic and dazzling journey into the mystery of time, space, grief and loneliness. Arsen's knowledge of mathematics and physics is truly impressive, and brings authenticity to the world of exploration she has captured. A lovely debut." —Charlotte McConaghy, author of Migrations

"A uniquely tender and beautiful book.....A novel of wonder and in-betweens that asks us to consider grief, hope, love, and ambition in equal measure." —Erika Swyler, author of The Book of Speculation
 
"Utterly original and overflowing with love in its purest form, Shoot the Moon is a one-of-a-kind journey through space, time and history." —Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Daughter

"Part historical fiction, part science fiction, part moving love story, Isa Arsén’s Shoot the Moon will surprise you at every turn. Prepare yourself: Shoot the Moon is a book like no other." —Jennie Fields, author of Atomic Love

"A stunning, intimate tale of emotional and intellectual courage, the bravery it takes to face the unknown—especially in our own hearts. Daring, intelligent and wonderfully detailed, Shoot the Moon is the space race novel I didn't even know I was looking for!" —Claudia Cravens, author of Lucky Red

"A deep, bold, and crackling smart debut. In the vein of Hidden Figures and The Glass Universe, Shoot the Moon is a complex speculative literary novel imbued with physics and math, but also love and loss and trauma. Arsén will break your heart and light all of the neural pathways of your brain on fire." —Yume Kitasei, author of The Deep Sky

"Arsén lures us in with science, keeps us guessing, and surprises us at every turn. And like the moon in the title, the story circles round to a completion we couldn't have seen until it appeared, full and shining." —Virginia Hartman, author of The Marsh Queen

"In prose precise as a lucid dream, Isa Arsén leads us through the empty spaces of the atmosphere and the heart, and offers a loving geometry of the ways we find our place in both." —Kathe Koja, author of  The Cipher Expand reviews
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more