Get Your First Month for Free Get Started
Price:

$21.00

Available for Pre-Order

Publication Date: January 29, 2019

We Cast a Shadow

A Novel

By Maurice Carlos Ruffin

A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout, about a father who will do anything to protect his son--even if it means turning him white.

How far would you go to protect your child?

Our narrator faces an impossible decision. Like any father, he just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is growing larger by the day. In this near-future society plagued by resurgent racism, segregation, and expanding private prisons, our narrator knows Nigel might not survive. Having watched the world take away his own father, he is determined to stop history from repeating itself.

There is one potential solution: a new experimental medical procedure that promises to save lives by turning people white. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few Black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly surreal hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in an urgent quest to protect his son.

This electrifying, suspenseful novel is at once a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. Writing in the tradition of Ralph Ellison and Franz Kafka, Maurice Carlos Ruffin fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.

  Add to Your Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save books to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log In       Create Account
Gift

Gift this Audiobook

Simply email this audiobook to a friend or print a certificate for later. Either way, your gift supports local bookstores and lets you share a story with the touch of a button.

 

Author
ISBN 9780525637363
Length
Language English
Publisher Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Publication Date
Edition Unabridged
Libro.fm Rank #14,518 Overall
Genre Rank #5,978 in Fiction & Literature
 

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener